Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Ugh! I had such high hopes for this recipe, but it did not taste good at all! I followed the recipe very closely, only adding walnuts and combining mozzarella and gorgonzola, like many reviewers suggested. It seemed like it had potential, but something was just not right. That being said, I left the basically-untouched pizza out and tried some the next day before tossing, and the taste seemed to have marginally improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I make a pizza very simular to this but I saute bacon and put on top with the cheese and onions. The taste holds up well but does not over power the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
The Gorgonzola cheese is really strong, so you only need a few ounces. It might be nice to dilute it with some Parmesan or other complementary cheese. The caramelized onions were a big hit (though time consuming).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Way too much gorgonzola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
OUTSTANDING! I was nervous my husband wasn't going to like this but it was a huge hit! We used store bought pizza crust (not boboli) and it was great - wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Fantastic! I would cut back on the cheese and add another onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I, too, followed reviewers advice and used the quick and easy pizza crust from this site. I reduced the gorgonzola to 5 oz. (the size of the tub in my local store) and added about 5 oz. shredded mozzarella. Be sure to use 2 BIG onions. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a very good pizza but definitely reduce the amount of gorgonzola. I reduce it by about half and substitute mozzarella for the other half. I also use the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust recipe from this site. Turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I only used about 5 oz. of gorgonzola and it was still WAY too much. I would recommend just a sprinkle of gorgonzola, or forget it completely and use parmesean. I also sprinkled some walnuts on top which was good. Probably a better appetizer than a main entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States