Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Too much butter, and FAR too much Gorgonzola as written! I cut way back on both, added a little diced prosciutto, and was mostly ok with the outcome. I used between 2 and 3 oz. of Gorgonzola. Thanks for the recipe, this was fun to try out :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This. Is. Heavenly. I made pita pizzas with it. I did as other reviewers and used mozzarella as a base and when the bf asked what I was making he looked very concerned but then ate it in seconds...and then ate the rest of mine. Absolutely delicious. I also added garlic and sun dried tomatoes. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
LOVED THIS! I used 'ricardo's pizza crust' from this site for the crust and prebaked it slightly. I brushed the crust w/ olive oil before taking some reviewers' advice and topping that with some shredded mozzarella before putting on the onions and gorgonzola cheese. I am a gorgonzola cheese lover, but even I knew that was gonna be too much for us. I used almost a whole 4oz. container and that was perfect, IMO. The sweetness of the onions with the sharp flavor from the cheese, just made this wonderful. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Used this recipe as a basis for my own version. Used Boboli (whole wheat thin), dab of olive oil on top, chopped garlic, then chopped walnuts, then the onions, about 1/4 pound of gogonzola and a handful of Italian blend. In the oven now and smells/looks wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
this pizza was OUTSTANDING! the mix of the strong gorgonzola with the sweet onions was divine. i made it for a guy who can't stand onions and he went back for thirds!! i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rayfordlaura
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
wow. so good! added some diced canned pears and chopped walnuts. made a whole wheat crust as well. not sure if i used a whole pound of cheese, used an entire 8oz pack of crumbles. next time think i will drizzle just a little honey over the top. will make again VERY SOON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and it is pretty good! Nothing outragous but I would definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I absolutely agree that a little gorgonzola cheese goes a long way! The next time I make this I'll probably only use 1/4 lb cheese. Other then that, I thought it was really good. I sliced some tomatoes and put them on the pizza to add something extra, and really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I really really liked the idea of this pizza - and I think that if you make modifications, it could be great! But, since I don't think that this recipe is great as is, I'm only giving it 2 stars - which is how it should work! Next time, I'll add olive oil and garlic powder to the crust as a sauce, and I'll cover the pizza in the onions, with mozz cheese, and then just sprinkle the gorgonzola cheese over that. The flavors go really well together, but the gorgonzola over the entire pizza, and in the amount specified was WAY too much for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
this was a little too much of -the cheese for us. I feel could of used half the amt. I added cooked, shredded chicken which was really good. Also, I only usesd 1 lrg onion and was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States