Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe! I followed other reviewers advice and used about 5 oz of gorgonzola along with some mozzarella, and honestly, I felt like it needed more gorgonzola, so next time I will use more. To those who noted that it seemed too sweet, you do not have to add the sugar to the onions, they are sweet enough w/o it. The only drawback was that it did seem to need some kind of sauce.I think next time I will make a a gorgonzola cream sauce and use that as a base. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is excellent! I make it at least once a week now for fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I've made this several times now and I think it's one of the best pizza recipes ever. I also cut the amount of gorgonzola in half (just to not overpower guests with this, not everyone is a fan of blue cheese flavor) and add mozzarella first, then the onions and top with the gorgonzola. I just french cut the onion, no need to cut super thin or dice, they shrink down a lot and I use half olive oil and butter when sauteing onions and whole wheat dough from fresh & easy and it's just as good!! A hit everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Domines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought the flavors were way too strong and didn't have much complexity. It was very sweet, and there was too much gorgonzola; it didn't do justice to the cheese. (I love gorgonzola by itself.) Maybe this pizza is just an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I agree with a lot of the other posts in that the gorgonzola needs to be decreased for our tastes. I also added chicken and some mozzarella cheese to mine. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is very good. Next time I will put a thin layer of BBQ sauce on the crust before cooking. I tried dipping, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This recipe is a winner. I have made it a few times now and it's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This pizza was okay. The flavors are very strong, so unless you're eating it with something else (which I wasn't) then it may be a little too intense. I may make it again as an appetizer for a party or something, but not as a meal for me and the hubby because I don't think I can handle the strong flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This made a wonderful appetizer. I followed the advice of lots of reviewers and added a layer or mozzarella cheese and only used 1/2 of the recommended Gorgonzola. I liked the mozzarella, but I think I will add all of the Gorgonzola on top of the mozzarella next tiem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good, different and E-Z! I used a Whole Wheat Pizza dough from Trader Joes and it was very good. I only used less then half of the amount of gorgonzola cheese called for and we thought that was all it needed. I added a few diced sun dried tomatoes because I had some I wanted to use up and like the addition to the pizza. This would also make a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States