Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I thought this pizza was really good although I did change a few things from the original. I took others suggestions and decreased the gorgonzola by half and substitued mozzarella, but felt maybe I shouldn't have cut back that much. I also added diced chicken and toasted walnuts to the pizza. The chicken I could have done with out becuase it didn't add much to the flavor, but the toasted walnuts were a perfect addition and complemented the flavors well. I also used a homemade pizza crust which was very easy. I followed "Valentino's" which is on this website. This pizza would make a great appetizer if you cut the pizza into little squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Fabulous! My husband, who doesn't like onions, and I both went back for seconds. Stop your searching, this is the pizza to make tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This pizza came out great. I used one of those Kraft crumbles packets that contains feta, parmesan, and provolone cheeses. It was delicious, and it was nice and easy. Next time I will try it with the gorgonzola. This is an excellent recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Cuneo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Don't get me wrong... I LOVE gorgonzola. However, this recipe used WAY too much! It would have been much better with 1/4 Lb. instead of a full Lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I used whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe's. Reduced the gorgonzola to 1/2 lb, as others suggested and also added a bit of mozzarella. I also added chopped walnuts. The flavor was absolutely delicious-- my guests loved it. However, I think that the pizza needs to cook at a higher temperature because my dough was still a little raw after 15 minutes at 425. I upped it to 500 for the second pizza and 12 minutes at that temp. worked well. Leftovers tasted great but didn't look as good. Will probably make again, with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was good, but not something I could eat a whole lot of. If I could I'd probably give it more like 3 1/2 stars. I was a little pressed for time today so I bought a pizza dough from the local pizzeria. I carmelized the onions which were wonderful, then I put together the pie. I made 1/2 with just the gorgonzola and onions, (and we liked it this way )but we made the other half as another reviewer suggested with the onions, not as much gorgonzola, some mozzerella and cheddar, we liked it A LOT better this way. It was still very flavorful but not as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was a real hit with the family. However the second time I made it, it was even better when I reduced the gorgonzola by half and substituted the other half with cheddar and mozzarella. I also brushed the crust with a little olive oil about 5 minutes before taking it out of the oven and kept it under the broiler until the cheese and crust were golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I thought the gorgonzola was very overpowering. I would probably try again but cut way back on the cheese, maybe adding some mozzarella or parmesan as well. I also added some Italian seasoning and a drizzle of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe!! My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Really good! I love the contrast of the sweet onion and salty gorgonzola. I used red onion because Vidalia's were unavailable. I made a personal pizza for myself using this recipe, and the Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust from this site. I divided the crust into 4 to make 4 small pizzas because the rest of the fam doesn't like gorgonzola (put other toppings on theirs). I only used one onion (but it was huge) and had some leftover which I will save for something else. Used about 4 oz. of gorgonzola. I've been wanting to try this recipe for a long time and I'm glad I finally did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States