Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This was beautiful and if I could have given it 4.5 stars I would have. The only thing that didn't make this recipe a 5 star was that I felt it was missing just a little something and if I am going to spend time caramelizing onions (and I have a passion for caramelized onions) the resulting dish should be perfect. The next time I made the recipe I added some toasted pine nuts becuse I felt the missing ingredient was more a textural than a taste thing. It was stunning! Two points I would make are; One - I found it best to add the spinach when the pasta is nice and hot so the spinach wilts enough so that the rawness of it is taken away. Two - (For the onion timid) Four onions is *not* too many for this recipe! In fact, make them four nice big ones and a pinch of sugar to help the caramelization process along, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Initially I thought leaving the spinach uncooked was a weird idea, but it turned out brilliantly! Even my Italian friend said this was a great pasta dish. Will definitely make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used elbow macaroni instead of orzo and it was fabulous. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. To my taste, it would be improved with a little garlic, maybe a little wine vinegar or lemon juice, for a little tangier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
We really liked this. I didn't have any fresh spinach so I just omitted it. I used reduced-fat cream cheese instead of marscapone. My 4-year-old asked for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I just tried this recipe with garlic and herb feta cheese and I like it much better with the feta.I guess I'm not a big fan of blue cheese but the rest of the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I have made this several times and each with great success. It is one of my favorites to serve to guests. I have not changed the recipe in any way (which is unusual for me) as I just love it the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This recipe was delicious! We subsituted feta cheese for the blue cheese, and to cut costs we used cream cheese instead of the mascapone cheese. Wonderful! We will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This was delicious! I would suggest adding more fresh spinach--maybe a cup more. This is great as a leftover also. Would be great with a baked chicken breast and crusty Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Another great Orzo recipe! Served it with thick slices of fresh crusty French Bread and an ice cold dark beer. Delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States