Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I substituted grated fresh parmesan for blue cheese because like a previous reviewer said, the blue cheese overwhelmed the dish. I also added a lot more spinach. This dish has a very mild taste and could use garlic maybe, or some bacon. I think this would be a hit with kids who like the more simple dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Excellent! my family LOVES blue cheese and this recipe was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I give this one star because: the blue cheese COMPLETELY overwhelmed all the other ingredients; it was VERY dry, AND to add insult to injury, slicing and carmelizing all those onions was a real pain in the butt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is a great dish, something different. Next time I would cut the Blue cheese in half and add some toasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This is very tasty, a nice change from rice or potatoes. I must admit ... I was very nervious about the amount of onions. But it honestly worked. I wish I had added even more (smile) Just a note, I think this might have the potential to become dry, so I used a bit of the water that I cooked the orzo in before it became dry. Last note, like another person mentioned, I added the spinach to the hot orzo, so that the spinach would wilt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Am glad I took the time and slowly caramalized the onion. The flavor really worked well with blue cheese and mascarpone,and the cheese melted so nicely. Topped off with some pine nuts and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was very smooth, very mild taste. It was quite good (especially coming from my highly critical brothers). We discussed the flavor and all agreed that next time we will add either some bacon pieces or even a quality sausage to really make it awesome. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Great side dish! Did not have mascarpone on hand so I used cream cheese. And I had Gorganzola (same thing?) so I used that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I've never thought i'd like onion but i did. Very tasty. One minus - it went out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Granted, I only had about 1/3 of the blue cheese the recipe called for and so I substituted goat cheese for the rest of the blue cheese, however I found this recipe less than delicious. The carmelized onions were slightly sweet which I thought would blend well with the sharp cheese but actually it didn't. I took one of the earlier reviewers suggestions and added pine nuts as well as doubling the spinach requirement. I also added two cloves of finely minced garlic. The garlic winded up being too strong so that apparantly wasn't the greatest idea. My husband disliked this recipe as well and he's not at all picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States