Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Great side dish-takes a little bit of work, but it was worth it. My husband especially loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe. Used regular cream cheese and skipped the spinach. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I've made this several times now & we love it. I'm allergic to blue cheese so substitute feta instead. Used both mascarpone & cream cheese and to me both versions taste the same so if you want to save a couple of bucks, feel free to use cream cheese. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is wonderful. I did change the blue cheese to feta since I do not like blue cheese- but the feta works as a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for our Christmas dinner and it was very good. I added extra blue cheese and freshly cracked black pepper. It was indulgent, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made this for dinner last night as a side dish and it was very good. I added some slivered sundried tomatoes (packed in oil) and some toasted walnuts. This would be a great salad served at room temperature in the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My boyfriend rated this a 4, although I rated it a 5, so 4.5 it is. I took a LONG time caramelizing my onions... probably over an hour over low-md heat. I like them to be uniformly brown and soft. I only used 4 ounces of bleu cheese, and I used cream cheese instead of mascarpone because my grocer was out. I used tiny shell pasta instead of the orzo and I thought it was a grown up version of shells and cheese! The bleu cheese didn't overpower at all. The sharp bleu cheese and the sweet onions were a perfect compliment. I loved it, and I will make it again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Timing is essential in this recipe if you want to avoid a lukewarm final product since the only 'cooking' that the cheese and spinach get is from the orzo and the onions. To help warm it up a bit more, I recommend bringing your cheeses to room temp first and then adding some reserved pasta cooking water to the mixture to warm it up, as is done with many pasta recipes. I also agree about not skimping on the onions; they are absolutely necessary for balancing the blue cheese. My husband thought it needed more balancing, so increasing the onions might be a good idea. Finally, caramelizing the onions takes much longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
A very good recipe. I did not drain the onions which kept the orzo from getting too dry. The onions need to be medium to large sized because it takes a lot of onion to balance the blue cheese flavor. This is a new favorite, though reserved for special occasions which justify all of the chopping and tears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a good recipe and I have made ir a few times now. Since there are few ingredients, I beleive the key to this recipe is to use good ingredients: vidalia or spanish onions onions and a good blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States