Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My husband is not a fan of blue cheese, I used a mild gorgonzola, and with the mascarpone it was very good and subtle, he actually had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was just not worth the expensive mascarpone cheese and blue cheese this recipe called for. It was just OK. Will definitely not make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
It was good, but not outstanding. To justify the expense and time you expend making this dish, it needs to be outstanding, and this missed the mark. I'm not sure what's missing honestly. Maybe the crunch of nuts, as another reviewer suggested. I did find I needed to salt this quite liberally, perhaps there's just too much pasta here? I don't know, something was not perfect. A bite of the caramelized onions with a bite of the blue cheese before I added the ingredients all in together was heavenly though, so there's nothing wrong with the mixture of flavors here (provided you like both blue cheese and caramelized onions). If I were to ever try again, I'm dead certain of one thing: I'd not use orzo. I'd use rice or any other shape of pasta. The orzo was extremely annoying. You know how when you drain pasta there's always 3 or 4 noodles stuck to the pot? Imagine that, only instead of 3 or 4 large noodles, it's 40 or 50 rice-sized ones for you to scrape out by hand later so you don't clog up the dishwasher! Rice or farfalle for sure if I were to try again, though that's nothing against the recipe, can't judge it down because I thought the pasta was a pain :) Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
3 out of 5 five family members enjoyed this, the other two were not happy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great dish! I subbed in spinach for edamame. Although the serving size is way off. The recipe says it's for 4 servings, I would say 8 is more accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was delicious. I added some sweet corn for texture and a little extra flavor, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I have made this dish SEVERAL times. It is amazing!!!!!! Thanks soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was amazing - we could not stop eating it! I used sun-dried tomatoes in place of the spinach and used 3 big Vidalia onions. I topped with fresh parmesan and toasted pine nuts. The flavor is complex and rich... definitely something to make when you want to impress (and you have an hour to kill for carmelizing onions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My family (5 yr old included) loved this dish. Make the effort to find the mascarpone cheese - it is divine!! It does make a lot, but the leftovers will go quick. In the carmelization process, I used regular yellow onions as they release more sugar and used a dash of salt and sugar. It took about an hour but so worth it. I served it alongside raspberry chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was just OK to me. Don't skimp on the onions even though it seems like alot. I wish I would have used more and I don't even like onions that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States