Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I thought this was really good. I'd never used Orzo pasta before, so this was a pretty good introduction. I only used 3 onions and used cream cheese instead of mascarpone, but it had really good flavor. I seems like most people use this as a side dish, but we ate it as the main entree, with a small side salad and some garlic toast and it was very filling. Definitely worth a try if you are a fan of bleu cheese and caramelized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I think I would use less blue cheese, maybe the same amount as the mascarpone; although I did sub it for cream cheese. Added walnuts for crunch that it needed. It was a little intense for a side-dish, and expensive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is good with any type of pasta...had it over whole wheat rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yum! I was looking for a recipe to make with items that I had on hand and I came across this one. I did not have orzo or blue cheese so I substituted rice and gorgonzola. I also added some artichoke hearts. Next time I think I will throw in some slivered almonds as well. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is such a yummy side dish! I added toasted walnuts and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was pretty good, though I did make a couple easy changes that made it better enough for my husband to go from, "It's good," to "This is the BOMB!" Made 1/2 recipe to go with grilled flat iron steak. Didn't have fresh spinach, so I used fresh asparagus and fresh parsley. The asparagus, added to cook w/onions when nearly done caramelizing, stayed crisp so it gave the dish the added crunch some have complained it needed. I also added chopped fresh parsley and @ a cup of pasta water with the al dente orzo to the onions/asparagus to cook a few mins together over low heat before adding the cheeses. Ended up adding more blue cheese (to taste), pepper, and salt before serving. Next time will likely cook the orzo in broth for more flavor. Don't think I'll mess with the marscopone (sp?) next time either -- cream cheese will be better (more tart) I think. I'll also use even more onions and NOT VIDALIA -- too sweet. Thanks for the recipe -- love it when Hubby can't leave the leftovers alone when I'm trying to clear the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Absolutely delish. Subbed feta because that's what I had, and also added some parmesan cheese. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
There seemed to be something missing, needed a little more crunch. Make sure you really cook the onions, and add some sort of crunch to the texture. I think it'd be great with gorgonzola or goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Great recipe -- the only thing I did differently, was to roast some whole garlic cloves in a little bit of olive oil in the oven, then add them at the end. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States