Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
This was beautiful and if I could have given it 4.5 stars I would have. The only thing that didn't make this recipe a 5 star was that I felt it was missing just a little something and if I am going to spend time caramelizing onions (and I have a passion for caramelized onions) the resulting dish should be perfect. The next time I made the recipe I added some toasted pine nuts becuse I felt the missing ingredient was more a textural than a taste thing. It was stunning! Two points I would make are; One - I found it best to add the spinach when the pasta is nice and hot so the spinach wilts enough so that the rawness of it is taken away. Two - (For the onion timid) Four onions is *not* too many for this recipe! In fact, make them four nice big ones and a pinch of sugar to help the caramelization process along, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This is very tasty, a nice change from rice or potatoes. I must admit ... I was very nervious about the amount of onions. But it honestly worked. I wish I had added even more (smile) Just a note, I think this might have the potential to become dry, so I used a bit of the water that I cooked the orzo in before it became dry. Last note, like another person mentioned, I added the spinach to the hot orzo, so that the spinach would wilt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I 1/2'd the pasta and doubled the spinach. Used prewashed baby spinach and rotini shaped pasta. Also sub'd cream cheese for mascarpone. Had only 4 oz. of the blue cheese. VERY GOOD. It cools very quickly. Had to nuke individual servings. Fine for wife and I. Would be very difficult to serve warm to many more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
A very good recipe. I did not drain the onions which kept the orzo from getting too dry. The onions need to be medium to large sized because it takes a lot of onion to balance the blue cheese flavor. This is a new favorite, though reserved for special occasions which justify all of the chopping and tears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was just not worth the expensive mascarpone cheese and blue cheese this recipe called for. It was just OK. Will definitely not make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had such high hopes for what sounded like such a delicious dish! I should've read all the reviews. Mascarpone did not work, cream cheese would have been better, four onions was NOT too much so keep them all in, 1 pound of pasta was way too much and too bland, the spinach needs to be added while it's still cooking to wilt it some. If I make it again, I'll make drastic changes. I agree it was missing "something" but not sure what. Toasted walnuts might have been a good addition too, but not sure what else would help this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Am glad I took the time and slowly caramalized the onion. The flavor really worked well with blue cheese and mascarpone,and the cheese melted so nicely. Topped off with some pine nuts and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe. Used regular cream cheese and skipped the spinach. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a good recipe and I have made ir a few times now. Since there are few ingredients, I beleive the key to this recipe is to use good ingredients: vidalia or spanish onions onions and a good blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Great side dish! Did not have mascarpone on hand so I used cream cheese. And I had Gorganzola (same thing?) so I used that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States