Caramelized-Onion, Spinach, and Bacon Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A friend sent me this recipes a few years ago and it's become a favorite in our house. I also use the store bought deep-dish pie shell. I no longer even look at the recipe when I make it. I use whatever I have on hand, so sometimes the sour cream or evaportated skim milk is left out. It never affects the final taste. This is a great quiche for breakfast, lunch, or a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I did not make my own crust, but rather opted to use a store-bought pie crust. Next time I would omit the bacon all together as the flavor of it didn't really go well with the rest of the ingredients. I also topped it with mozzarella cheese as that is what I had on hand. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I used a store-bought pie crust, and honestly, that was the best thing about this dish. We like all of the ingredients, but the combination didn't taste right. It definitely needed more salt in the spinach layer. I'm wondering if it would taste better if you combined all of the ingredients rather than layering. Anyway, most of ours went in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I made this this evening and while it was very tasty, I had a very hard time with the pizza dough resulting in a very chewy crust. Also my amateur attepmt at preparing the dough called for a thick mess that tore and did not fit the pan allowing a good amount of excess liquid to spill on to the counter and drip onto the floor (the dog didn't mind!) I will use the prepared crust (thus negating the light concept) in the future to make this a truely easy quiche. My husband and I both love this and for 5 points per slice, it's a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
While I loved the flavor of this quiche, and the fact that it was a "light" recipe, I won't be making it again. For dinner tonight, I made this quiche and the "easy quiche." While my husband and I agreed that the flavor of this quiche was slightly better, we really didn't like the pizza dough crust, and I just felt that it took too much time. In the future, I'll use the easy quiche recipe but use caramalized onion, bacon and spinach instead of the broccoli and ham that recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Excellent quiche, and really easy to make. Be sure not to skimp out on any of the onions - the flavour is wonderful! The pizza crust, while unbeatable for efficiency, doesn't really have the right consistency or texture for a quiche crust. If you have the time, use another recipe for the crust. If not, it's really not all that terrible. It's my only complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Very good quiche! Served it for a baby shower. I made 4 diffferent kinds and next to the cheddar bacon quiche this one was the biggest hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Divine.....I had an awesome quiche recipe from way back in home ec (consumer science nowadays!), and I was so upset to lose that recipe.....this is even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Delicious! Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Oh, this quiche was delicious! The caramelized onions really made the difference--well worth the effort to make. I had serious doubts about using the canned refigerated pizza crust since I've had lots of trouble in the past with a soggy/not done crust in the bottom center. . .but it worked out great. The crust was wonderful. This could also be made a day ahead if you're having guests. The flavors seem even better and more blended--and the crust held up great. Just reheat in the micro or oven. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States