Caramelized Oatmeal Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Since my husband is a diabetic, I used Splenda Brown Sugar replacing the sugar according to Splenda directions. I used 2 TBS of wheat germ and skim milk to cut down on the fat a little. This is a knock-your-socks-off recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This recipe is spectacular! Changes I made: I didn't bother coating the raisins with flour, and I used powdered milk in place of evaporated. These tasted wonderful and I am adding the recipe to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I own a bed and breakfast and these muffins passed the test of my picky guests. As a note, bake the muffins the night before, after cooling, wrap in plastic, or just cover with a plastic bag. The next morning they will be very moist almost like a cake. At that time, warm up and serve with butter. Yum, muffins they keep me in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These muffins rose well, the recipe yield and cooking time were accurate, but the the caramelization was rather time-consuming without a big pay-off in flavor. I always use unsalted butter, and this recipe does not list salt in the ingredients. I feel a pinch of salt would have improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I really liked this! I put in one apple, cored and sliced. I just made sure I coated the apple with flour. I also ended up using 3 packages of instant oatmeal (I realized too late it was all I had) It turned out dense and very sweet. Oh, I also used 1 cup of vanilla soy milk instead of evaporated. Perfect for the breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very good and moist. Doubled the spices and only baked for 20 minutes.also, I like my raisins plump, so simmered them for five minutes in boiling water, drain and add to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was a very good recipe. It reminded me somewhat of the allbran muffin recipe. Not too sweet. These are muffins with substance, oats and raisins, yum! I did double the cinnamon and allspice because I love those spices. I only cooked mine for twenty minutes and they came out perfect. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I love the carmelized idea. These muffins were tastey with a nicely puffed and toasted top. I also substituted soy milk. They were however a tad on the dry side and I wanted them a little sweeter. Batch #2: I added 1/2 cup of sour cream and they came out a bit more moist. I also added an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. This recipe makes a great base for adding variety like bananna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Good flavor, slightly chewy, loaded with raisins. I doubled the amount of wheat germ and used skim milk in place of evaporated. Family loved them! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really liked the idea of caramelizing the oats before adding them to the mix, but this recipe just didn't do it for me. They came out really dry and without as much flavor as I expected, even though I doubled the spices. They were edible warm and covered with apple butter, but it's going to take us a while to get rid of them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States