Caramelized Green Beans with Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I made a few changes to this recipe, as I didn't have walnuts and I don't eat dairy (butter): I cooked the green beans in olive oil instead of butter. I had to pour off some of the water as it was too much. I didn't use the white sugar based on some reviews that said it was too sweet. When the beans were done with the brown sugar and salt, I found it a little bland for my taste (could have been the missing butter), so I threw in a little more salt and about a tablespoon of garlic, and sauteed it all for a couple more minutes. Then they were amazing! I will definitely be making it again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These were a hit just as the recipe is printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good, has a nice sweet flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
A great side dish. My family loved these and even my pick daughter liked them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
A nice and new recipe. I love walnuts and they were so tasty with the greenbeens and brown sugar. I got many compliments on my dinner that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Did Not like these! Maybe just the way I cooked them not sure but they were not as crispy as I thought they would be didn't care for them to much Guess I just like my green beans more salty than sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This is great- I have a sweet tooth and my boyfriend likes salty, meaty entrees, so this is my go-to side dish when I'm making an entree for his taste. Doesn't keep that well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was wonderful, My husband actually eat Green Beans!! My son did not eat them but he would not even try them once I said Green Bean :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made these for Easter. Very big hit, although I used about 2 lbs. of green beans and only 1/2 cup of brown sugar-no white sugar. I think that was a good move as I think it would have been way too sweet otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Definitely too sweet. If I make it again, I would reduce the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States