Caramelized Green Beans with Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Family favorite now; took the place of green bean casserole for Christmas even! I only used the brown sugar. Doubled the green beans. Walnuts are best, but I have used pecans since we have many frozen. Less water/or drain off most before adding brown sugar. Thank you jayceeboyer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Yummy!!!! Super easy to make and everyone loved the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I made this tonight I am not a huge fan of fresh green beans but wanted to try something new I made 2lbs worth of green beans only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar no white sugar plenty sweet enough for us was very quick and easy to make and we loved it will make again maybe next time add a little bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I used 1/2 the sugar and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These beans were pretty good. I prefer saltier, more savory green bean recipes but these were a nice change of pace. My boyfriend said the walnuts really made the dish and I agree! Don't skip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Just tried it tonight, and was a bit skeptical due to myself being a non-vegetable eater. I can truthfully say that after over 35 years of not eating green beans I found a green bean dish that I like. The crunch of the walnuts was the perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I added shallots and balsamic vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Anything to try and get a kid to eat his veggies! The sugar was an interesting touch to the green beans, but this tasted really good! I ALMOST got them all down the 8 year old! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I thought it was very very sweet. I even added alot of soy sauce because I tasted it before it was done. It needed alot more then what it was besides a sugared greenbean. You could hardly taste the walnut. When I seved it to my guest. I told them I was trying something new. I got mixed ratings. Three said they have had better and two said it was good. I think it just depends if you like sweet things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I reduced the sugar by half and added balsamic reduction. It turned out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States