Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
The brown sugar syrup didn't turn out like I wanted it, but I will try again. I'm sure once I get the topping mastered this recipe will be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Patterson
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is so delicious! I burned the caramel the first time. On my 2nd attempt, I melted butter, wisked in half and half and the brown sugar and stirred for 7 minutes on medium heat. Easy and memorable; hanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I tried 3 times and brown sugar clumped up all 3 times. I tried hot and cold water. Turned into chip like. I put on anyway and was hard but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
No complaints in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Karen Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is now one of my new favorites of making french toast! Who would've thought that a little bit of water and a little bit of brown sugar would make a tasteful and delicious syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebcameron89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It was ok. With the brown sugar, it was too sweet. Normally, we like to just use vanilla bean ice cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Yuen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Soooo good. Even my picky eater loved it. Tastes like creme brulee, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is a perfect start to your day. I used challah bread that I had cut in one inch widths and made sure they were thoroughly soaked with the egg mixture. Despite following the recipe and video, my sauce came out a little lumpy so I just buzzed it in the blender until smooth. We loved this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Some of the best french toast I've ever had. I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added butter first and then the brown sugar followed by 1 cup of boiling water. Another suggestion I would make is to add more water than brown sugar, which is what I did and it came out to a perfect brown sugar glaze. Sprinkled with powdered sugar, fresh cut strawberries and bananas and it came out perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I often make French toast on weekends, so it was fun to change it up. Both my husband and my 23 yo son used the same word without hearing each others' comment - Amazing. I added a little more butter to the pan with the brown sugar, and also tossed in some pecans that I had on hand. Oh, and I just happened to have some orange liqueur leftover from another recipe and this seemed like a good opportunity to use it up, so I mixed some of that in to the caramel sauce as well! Next time I make this I will also add some cinnamon to the sugar mixture. Everyone loved it, but my husband suggested that I save it for special occasions so they don't get spoiled and expect it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States