Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Wow. One of the things I love about this website is finding easy and unique recipes. This is one of them! I made this for breakfast this morning and had two pieces. I could've easily eaten two more! Other family members told me this was the best french toast they have ever had. Thanks to other reviewers suggestions I also added hot water to the brown sugar, and turned the heat down to low when I added the sugar. Make sure you stir constantly because the sugar will burn! Also, adding hot water to the pan as soon as you are done cooking really does make clean up a snap! Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
awesome. I used the recipe fluffy french toast( also on this website) for the toast part. All i did was i added 2 tps of butter after cooking all the toast and then followed the recipe. Awesome, will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is the best french toast I ever had. I will definitely be making it again. I made it for dinner for my sister and I and she wants the recipe now. We don't have to buy syrup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Really good and does taste like a caramel rolls, without the hassle of using yeast and much quicker results. The clean-up required afterwards is well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was very easy and fast. I used boiling water to add to the brown sugar and it worked just fine. It always pays to read the recipe reviews before trying a new recipe - it pays off. My husband liked this a lot, we were out of syrup so this made his morning. I dusted a little powdered sugar for garnish and he ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This french toast is delicious! This is the sort of meal you pay top dollar for in a restaurant. I did however mistakenly brown the butter before adding the sugar and the caramel sauce tasted a little burnt, so I recommend watching the butter very closely to ensure it doesn't over heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
My husband thought it was great. I also added pecans. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
My family LOVED this. It was very easy to make and clean-up wasn't bad. I used boiling water as others suggested and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This is sooooo good!I added some cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice to the French toast mix (like my usual recipe) and added toasted almonds before adding the toast to the caramel mixture. I will definitely make this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
We had this for dinner tonight, along with scrambled eggs and bacon. We loved it. My husband proclaimed it "excellent". I cut 4 thick slices of a homemade loaf of white bread, and followed the recipe for making the french toast. I halved the recipe for the caramel sauce. To make the sauce, I added about 1T of butter into the pan, let it melt down, then added 1/2c of brown sugar, and then 1/4c HOT water. After it had bubbled and thickened a bit, I added a little milk. It did not harden (it did not cook long enough to get to that stage) and it had the consistency of syrup. We poured some of the extra sauce over the french toast. Delicious! Thanks Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States