Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I used a different French Toast recipe, I tend to like fluffier toast with flour, and some spices, but the carmelized part is EXCELLENT! Who needs syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Carmelized french toast is very sweet and actually rather good. However I personally feel it's a little to sugary for breakfast though it might be great for brunch. I also found it a bit of a pain trying to get all the melted brown sugar off the frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
i found this recipe when i had run out of maple syrup. the french toast didn't even need syrup, they were sweet and my kids loved them. i did need although more butter, after 2 slices the butter was gone in the skillet. other than that, just remember to lower the heat when you add the brown sugar or else it starts to turn to candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
I have only two words for this Thank you!If i was a man id marry you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is the best french toast I ever had. I will definitely be making it again. I made it for dinner for my sister and I and she wants the recipe now. We don't have to buy syrup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Yes, it is much less of a mess than caramel rolls. No, we will no longer be buying maple syrup. My only suggestion is to try using hot water to add to the melted sugar, it is less likely to harden the sugar and allows for a smoother syrup. Tastes great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Kratz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Really good and does taste like a caramel rolls, without the hassle of using yeast and much quicker results. The clean-up required afterwards is well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Well, make sure your water added to the melted brown sugar is PIPING hot... mine wasn't and it hardened the brown sugar on contact. No matter how much I heated it after that, I never got a good caramelizing mixture. I'm disappointed, and probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
and the search goes on for a good carmalized toast recipe. this would be good..if it would have carmalized. and the proportions of ingrediants were way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
When I added the water I used cold water, so make sure you use hot water. Even so I dipped the french toast into the carmel water and it still tasted great. It was a great substitiute for syrup. Even though my toast wasn't carmalized my fiance thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States