Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Even my picking husband loved it, without adding anything extra. I did embellish on mine though ... I squeezed an orange wedge over the toast, and added sliced bananas and chopped walnuts. I didn't have any whipped topping tough. These went great the apple-brown sugar/maple sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Basically just french toast with caramel. I used half the amount of eggs and it turned out wonderfully! The caramel wasn't as easy as it sounded (mine turned out rather nicely but it had some gravel-like sugar left). I don't think the two go particularly well, but good effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I read several reviews 1st & then added both vanilla & cinnamon to the egg/milk mix. I also didn't use as much butter, added no salt & used egg whites only. It was a very sweet treat for breakfast. I also added the brown sugar to boiling water & added walnuts while carmelizing & just drizzled the nuts & suace over the toast. Was a quick & easy recipe. Definitely enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicbo78
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
we all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I dont eat french toast but all the kiddos really seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Love it! We've had this french toast every sunday morning for a month. My husband begs me to make it! The people with the burned carmel might need to turn the heat down a little. I also add a little extra butter to the pan before adding the brown sugar....super yummy. Thanks for a great recipe that'll surly by a staple in our family for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Didn't have to much success with this recipe. I burned the sugar and almost set off the smoke alarms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proverbs31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is GREAT. HOWEVER i believe the writer should edit it and assist those who haven't had their coffee yet-since this is a breakfast dish ;P About the adding boiling water to the last stage-less of chance of burning mess. I did so with white sugar (didn't have brown) and it came out great!! I added a lil cinnamon to give it lil more flavor. This is a great way to have french toast if your missing maple syrup from you pantry-it's so delish and tasty you can go sans syrup. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very good! followed directions, and read the reviews. for the caramel, used boiling water. After adding water, boiled it down for a couple minutes, removed from heat and let cool slightly, about 1-2 minutes, then dipped the french toast..got a better coating with the cooler, thicker caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good French Toast recipe. I would change a few things next time. I would use less eggs 6 really is not necessary. I would add cinnamon to the egg mixture. I also added boiling water to the brown sugar mix (got this from a fellow reviewer). I did add cinnamon at this point. Very good. My hubby told me to make sure I add this to the recipe box. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andersonfam09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States