Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tried this recipe this morning with my daughter. We both loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Really good. Next time I will use only 1/2 c brown sugar because I had a lot of extra sauce. I dipped only one side of each piece and that was sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
WOW! Made this for Sunday morning brunch. I used a whole loaf of Sourdough bread and we only had a piece and a half left(we have decided however not to get our blood sugar tested today!). Made the caramel sauce, I just added a bit of vanilla to mine, it came out beautifully. (You can over work the sugar and it will seize and be grainy so maybe that is what happened to the other reviewers) I also added some sliced bananas, YUMMY sounds everywhere! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tasted really eggy, but that could have just been how I made it. The carmel tasted great, but make sure you add the water before it hardens too much. I forgot it and it got super sticky. But after I put the water in it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I really wish I had read reviews before I made this. The caramel sauce DID NOT WORK. Had I stopped before I added the water it would have been fine. But I didn't, I decided to follow the recipe to the end and add the water (even tho I had a perfect sauce for drizzling) and the water caused my caramel to seize. Bummer. Maybe the original author can amend the recipe? A beginner baker/cook could really get confused by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this it was a big hit came out fine. Very easy. The caramel sauce was not too bad to make. I used boiling water as per the reviews. I cut slices from some left-over Italian rolls I bought yesterday for sandwiches, instead of using regular bread. Oh and I added a 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't have to try it to know it will be good!!! I think I'll add some cinnamon, craisins and walnuts to it. Yum:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
well at first I thought it would be similar to the apple caramel we use on the pork chops, tho it was a little more sticky sweet. My kids thought it tasted just like syrup. I'd use less sugar perhaps....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
i've tried doing a French toast this way since I was 12....but i wanted to add some cinnamon into the caramel because i think it's fancier and appealing to the taste buds. plus, cinnamon has a health benefit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3cia!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
i added some almond extraic with the milk and eggs ,i also sliced banana when i added the brown sugar and toasted them up and top off the toast with carmel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabowabo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States