Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Good start with recipe, but it could use more detail. Caution regarding the carmel; burns very quickly...decreasing heat from medium would be helpful in directions. Also, seems the amount of carmel is extensive in directions with full coating...pic shows carmel drizzle which seems more appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
they came out absolutely beautiful the caramelize-ing sauce tasted a bit bitter but a splash of honey did the trick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
this was very good even w/out the caramel sauce. I added vanilla and then followed the directions.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
*******O U T S T A N D I N G ******* This recipe is such a keeper. We actually got a compliments from every member of the family...even me. Thank You Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Easy to make for a quick breakfast. My wife made some fresh homemade bread last night and this proved good use for one loaf. This is very rich tasting. I added a little more butter to help the brown sugar with melting, not sure I did it perfectly. I was waiting for the caramel color...it just gets a dark brown when it is done. The family loved this, and my kids are picky eaters when it comes to new meals. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is great! I didn't need syrup on my toast! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Everybody loved this, but I gave one less star for the weird step with the caramel. Per other suggestions, I added boiling water soon after the brown sugar, but still ended up with little caramel rocks! I boiled it for a while, though, and just dipped the bread in the pan, then sprinkled the toffee "crisps" over the top. We, too, used almond instead of vanilla and topped it all with whipped cream. Everyone had extra helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
this recipe was amazing!!! i made it for my friend and I and he called it epically amazing!! i may have burned the caramel sauce a little but it still was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
awesome recipe! just tried and it was so yum! i added a little vanilla into the egg n milk batter...all around yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
awesome!! i followed some of the reviewers suggestions, I added some cinnamon to the egg mixture, and I boiled the water before adding the sugar, and when that was done I added a few drops of vanilla ( the recipe was halved ) and it turned out great! it wasn't too sweet like some people were saying. definitely making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States