Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
My caramel sauce was thin - but I think perhaps less water, more butter would help that. Kids loved it. Messy, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used cinnamon bread thickly sliced. I sliced some bananas & sauteed them in the sauce. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love the idea of Caramelized French Toast, so first of all Kudos to he cook who came up with the idea. But to start, frying french toast in butter is not such a good thing unless you want really dark brown toast. High heat will turn your butter dark brown. I suggest a butter spray to "cook" the toast. Add your butter at the end when you add the brown sugar and then add only about a quarter cup of warm water, slowly! Your caramel topping will taste less burnt and more sweet and smooth. You could also add an eighth teaspoon of vanilla. Great winter recipe. Fast, easy to make, just use common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tried this recipe this morning with my daughter. We both loved it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Really good. Next time I will use only 1/2 c brown sugar because I had a lot of extra sauce. I dipped only one side of each piece and that was sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
WOW! Made this for Sunday morning brunch. I used a whole loaf of Sourdough bread and we only had a piece and a half left(we have decided however not to get our blood sugar tested today!). Made the caramel sauce, I just added a bit of vanilla to mine, it came out beautifully. (You can over work the sugar and it will seize and be grainy so maybe that is what happened to the other reviewers) I also added some sliced bananas, YUMMY sounds everywhere! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tasted really eggy, but that could have just been how I made it. The carmel tasted great, but make sure you add the water before it hardens too much. I forgot it and it got super sticky. But after I put the water in it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I really wish I had read reviews before I made this. The caramel sauce DID NOT WORK. Had I stopped before I added the water it would have been fine. But I didn't, I decided to follow the recipe to the end and add the water (even tho I had a perfect sauce for drizzling) and the water caused my caramel to seize. Bummer. Maybe the original author can amend the recipe? A beginner baker/cook could really get confused by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this it was a big hit came out fine. Very easy. The caramel sauce was not too bad to make. I used boiling water as per the reviews. I cut slices from some left-over Italian rolls I bought yesterday for sandwiches, instead of using regular bread. Oh and I added a 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I don't have to try it to know it will be good!!! I think I'll add some cinnamon, craisins and walnuts to it. Yum:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States