Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I just finished making this and really enjoyed it. Would recommend and make again. I did take other reviewers advice and boil the water before mixing it in, it yielded a very thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My problem was with the carmel. When i melted the sugar then added the water it turned into a hard ball. It did dissolve again but by then the sugar was burned. I tried again tried again on the sauce but this time I dissolved the sugar in the water first and then put it in the pan....that worked much better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was pretty good! I made it for my Fiance and step-son and they both loved it. The only thing I did differently was add some of my normal spices to the french toast (cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla) and like one of the first reviews said I boiled the water first and then added the sugar slowly, and for me that worked better than doing it the other way around. I will be adding this to the recipe box to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrzEdwards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was pretty easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmpickup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The french toast is wonderful but half the sauce crystalized on me, but it still had good flavor what didn't and with just half the sause we still had plenty. The sauce just taste like regular bottled syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe even though i Burned the caramel sauce and couldn't use it. But the french toast came out great for my first time. Cant wait to try it again. I seriously wont screw the sauce again. I ran out of egg mixture so i could only do 6 slices. But it was still good with maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmox21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made half the recipe, followed instructions as written. This was way too sweet for our taste; but thanks for sharing something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I love this recipe and plan to make it again soon. The changes I made were adding 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamin to the egg mixture. When making the caramel sauce, I heated 1 tbs of butter, then added the brown sugar. After about 1 min, I slowly added boiling water and stirred constantly on medium heat for about 8 minutes. Then I placed the bread in the sauce quickly coating both sides and put them on a warming plate til all were done. The wife is not usually a fan of french toast but loved this and I did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good....could use a little cinnamon & when adding the water, use hot water so the brown sugar doesn't get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hoisve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe. I added vanilla to the egg mix and cinnamon to the brown sugar .It had a good flavor.My daughter really liked it;she is my critic;so I know it had to be good.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Barrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States