Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I've made it twice and my kids now want it for birthday breakfasts every time! Decadent and sinful!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
We were running low on syrup so I wanted to try this. My husband said he would just use up the last of the syrup because he didn't want to try it. I asked him to just try it and is he glad he did! He thought it was awesome! We will definitely make this again soon! I made the french toast on a griddle and made the "syrup" in a saucepan. I melted 2 tablespoons butter over low heat and stirred about 3/4 cup brown sugar into the melted butter. I boiled about 1/2 cup water in a ramekin in the microwave and added the boiling water until it reached the consistency that I wanted. I just whisked in the water a little at a time and it turned out perfect! I did keep the heat at medium low. I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the eggs and I was going to add vanilla and milk but we didn't have milk so I added french vanilla coffee creamer. We used potato bread. I also added chopped pecans and a sprinkle of powdered sugar. This was an amazing breakfast! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Simple recipe to follow. Overall good taste. Only problem is the caramel sauce is a little runny so I recommend using a little less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good recipe. It's great because you don't need any syrup and they are so tasty! I put some powdered sugar on top and my fiance loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i added vanilla to the egg mix. i also added water before the sugar for the caramel sauce. and added a splash of milk to the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I am also not a french toast fan but this was nice. I was blessed to have read the reviews before attempting the recipe. And it help alot!!! My caramel sauce turn out perfect because of the tip to use boiling hot water and to control the heat by not having it up too high. My kids clean it out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinesha J
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I really like this recipe and I am not a lover of french toast. I was looking for something different to feed the family for breakfast and came across this recipe. One thing I notice is for a serving of 8 I was supposed to use 6 eggs that is too much. We wound up with 12 french toast (which we still devoured). For the caramel, I added the brown sugar and not fulling reading the directions, added half the water a few seconds later. But it turned out good because mine didn't turn hard. We will be enjoying this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm not sure if i did something wrong on this recipe but it was a complete DISASTER. I could not get the caramel to harden to save my life and it just turned into this runny syrupy concoction. I had just figured i did it wrong and i would try again next time, but when we took a bite into it, it just was not a very pleasant taste at all. Entirely too sweet and the taste just didn't mix with the toast at all. I can assure that i will not be trying this recipe again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Tasted good, but the caramel sauce was too sticky to eat! Directions say cook until sticky, but I think when it starts to bubble up it's about done!.. I let it simmer a couple more minutes and it was sticking to our teeth.. I drizzled over top of french toast!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The best and ready for company brunch! Only used half the eggs and milk for batter and added tsp. of vanilla extract. Will use almond extract suggestion next time if I have almonds on hand for topping. Used a small bagguette cut into eight pieces. Cooked these in two tbsp. of the butter and use the remaining butter in the sauce. Sauce cooked smoothly and perfectly with water from tap. Added water slowly and it began to steam immediately. Did add some pecans to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States