Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious! What a great twist on french toast. I was little worried that the recipe wasn't going to work for me with the caramel sauce, because the sugar wouldn't melt. I had to add a little bit more butter (probably two tablespoons) to the pan and then the sugar started melting. I did cook the sauce down for a few minutes before putting the french toast back in to thicken it up a bit. And the only difference I did was to add less eggs, because we don't like our french toast so eggy. This will be a definite keeper for Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I loved this french toast, I thought it was delicious! There should've been a bit more clarification in the directions about how to do the last step, but hey I worked it out and enjoyed it very much!! **UPDATE** I make this ALL the time now, I actually prefer this syrup over the normal store bought stuff.....and it's so easy to make, I can't be bothered getting the other syrup out of the cupboard! Thanks soooo much for this new TNT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I've made it twice and my kids now want it for birthday breakfasts every time! Decadent and sinful!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
We were running low on syrup so I wanted to try this. My husband said he would just use up the last of the syrup because he didn't want to try it. I asked him to just try it and is he glad he did! He thought it was awesome! We will definitely make this again soon! I made the french toast on a griddle and made the "syrup" in a saucepan. I melted 2 tablespoons butter over low heat and stirred about 3/4 cup brown sugar into the melted butter. I boiled about 1/2 cup water in a ramekin in the microwave and added the boiling water until it reached the consistency that I wanted. I just whisked in the water a little at a time and it turned out perfect! I did keep the heat at medium low. I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the eggs and I was going to add vanilla and milk but we didn't have milk so I added french vanilla coffee creamer. We used potato bread. I also added chopped pecans and a sprinkle of powdered sugar. This was an amazing breakfast! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Simple recipe to follow. Overall good taste. Only problem is the caramel sauce is a little runny so I recommend using a little less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good recipe. It's great because you don't need any syrup and they are so tasty! I put some powdered sugar on top and my fiance loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i added vanilla to the egg mix. i also added water before the sugar for the caramel sauce. and added a splash of milk to the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I am also not a french toast fan but this was nice. I was blessed to have read the reviews before attempting the recipe. And it help alot!!! My caramel sauce turn out perfect because of the tip to use boiling hot water and to control the heat by not having it up too high. My kids clean it out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinesha J
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I really like this recipe and I am not a lover of french toast. I was looking for something different to feed the family for breakfast and came across this recipe. One thing I notice is for a serving of 8 I was supposed to use 6 eggs that is too much. We wound up with 12 french toast (which we still devoured). For the caramel, I added the brown sugar and not fulling reading the directions, added half the water a few seconds later. But it turned out good because mine didn't turn hard. We will be enjoying this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm not sure if i did something wrong on this recipe but it was a complete DISASTER. I could not get the caramel to harden to save my life and it just turned into this runny syrupy concoction. I had just figured i did it wrong and i would try again next time, but when we took a bite into it, it just was not a very pleasant taste at all. Entirely too sweet and the taste just didn't mix with the toast at all. I can assure that i will not be trying this recipe again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States