Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good recipe. It's great because you don't need any syrup and they are so tasty! I put some powdered sugar on top and my fiance loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i added vanilla to the egg mix. i also added water before the sugar for the caramel sauce. and added a splash of milk to the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I am also not a french toast fan but this was nice. I was blessed to have read the reviews before attempting the recipe. And it help alot!!! My caramel sauce turn out perfect because of the tip to use boiling hot water and to control the heat by not having it up too high. My kids clean it out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trinesha J
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I really like this recipe and I am not a lover of french toast. I was looking for something different to feed the family for breakfast and came across this recipe. One thing I notice is for a serving of 8 I was supposed to use 6 eggs that is too much. We wound up with 12 french toast (which we still devoured). For the caramel, I added the brown sugar and not fulling reading the directions, added half the water a few seconds later. But it turned out good because mine didn't turn hard. We will be enjoying this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm not sure if i did something wrong on this recipe but it was a complete DISASTER. I could not get the caramel to harden to save my life and it just turned into this runny syrupy concoction. I had just figured i did it wrong and i would try again next time, but when we took a bite into it, it just was not a very pleasant taste at all. Entirely too sweet and the taste just didn't mix with the toast at all. I can assure that i will not be trying this recipe again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Tasted good, but the caramel sauce was too sticky to eat! Directions say cook until sticky, but I think when it starts to bubble up it's about done!.. I let it simmer a couple more minutes and it was sticking to our teeth.. I drizzled over top of french toast!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The best and ready for company brunch! Only used half the eggs and milk for batter and added tsp. of vanilla extract. Will use almond extract suggestion next time if I have almonds on hand for topping. Used a small bagguette cut into eight pieces. Cooked these in two tbsp. of the butter and use the remaining butter in the sauce. Sauce cooked smoothly and perfectly with water from tap. Added water slowly and it began to steam immediately. Did add some pecans to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is now our new favorite breakfast!!!! AWESOME!!! I made it exactly like the directions and at the end added a handful of pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Yummy! Sweeter than my regular breakfast preferences, but if I'm in the mood for a sweet start, this is perfect! I'm glad I read the other reviews before I made this because I think that boiling water is crucial to making the caramel sauce. In fact, I was having trouble getting the brown sugar to melt so I added the hot water before it was melted, and I had the perfect caramel sauce in less than 5 minutes. Other than boiling the water for the sugar-sauce, I made 2 minor changes: (1) I halved the recipe and (2) I added cinnamon to the egg mixture. I think it's also important to use butter as the recipe calls for: it adds a perfect dimension to the caramel sauce which neither shortening nor margerine would provide. This is delicious and quite sweet; and it would be great with fruit (the tartness would pair nicely with the sweet sauce) and whipped cream. This would also be a great desert served with fruit or ice cream! Wow, imagine this sticky French Toast as a base for a scoop of ice cream, nuts, and hot fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Oh I wish I had seen the reviews about boiling the water first! I just saw all the positive feedback and decided to give it a shot. My caramel sauce also ended semi-disastrous. I melted the sugar first and then added the water. My rational thought kept me from pouring the whole cup of water in, I added it slowly. But it still clumped up and became a little burned. Instead of having the REVIEWS with the right procedure, why doesn’t someone alter the original recipe for people like me?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States