Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is now one of my new favorites of making french toast! Who would've thought that a little bit of water and a little bit of brown sugar would make a tasteful and delicious syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebcameron89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It was ok. With the brown sugar, it was too sweet. Normally, we like to just use vanilla bean ice cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Yuen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Soooo good. Even my picky eater loved it. Tastes like creme brulee, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is a perfect start to your day. I used challah bread that I had cut in one inch widths and made sure they were thoroughly soaked with the egg mixture. Despite following the recipe and video, my sauce came out a little lumpy so I just buzzed it in the blender until smooth. We loved this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Some of the best french toast I've ever had. I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added butter first and then the brown sugar followed by 1 cup of boiling water. Another suggestion I would make is to add more water than brown sugar, which is what I did and it came out to a perfect brown sugar glaze. Sprinkled with powdered sugar, fresh cut strawberries and bananas and it came out perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I often make French toast on weekends, so it was fun to change it up. Both my husband and my 23 yo son used the same word without hearing each others' comment - Amazing. I added a little more butter to the pan with the brown sugar, and also tossed in some pecans that I had on hand. Oh, and I just happened to have some orange liqueur leftover from another recipe and this seemed like a good opportunity to use it up, so I mixed some of that in to the caramel sauce as well! Next time I make this I will also add some cinnamon to the sugar mixture. Everyone loved it, but my husband suggested that I save it for special occasions so they don't get spoiled and expect it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Made as is, very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great recipe- Use Hawaiian bread- YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Overpowering with sweet, but it sure was yummy for the first piece or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin McIntire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I added pecans,vanilla & a little Butterscotch schnapps to the caramel as well as patience. I prepared it in a non-stick saucepan before making the french toast. I took the suggestion from another review and boiled the water. Doing that cut the time. If the brown sugar isn't cooked long enough, it can be very grainy. It takes about 4-5 minutes to melt the brown sugar and butter (on low heat) to get a good caramel consistency. When the french toast was done, I pour the pecan caramel sauce into the frying pan and coated the toast. Served it with powdered sugar (I needed some leaves raked, so I figured a little more sugar would do the trick!)and whipped cream. Put some strawberries on the plate and voila, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States