Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I boiled the water before adding it to the brown sugar and this was FANTASTIC!!! I halved the recipe because of the mixed reviews but there was nothing wrong with this recipe at all. I didn't find it any sweeter than french toast with syrup. I added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the carmel sauce after it cooked and 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the egg mixture. Other than that, I didn't change anything and I ended up eating all four pieces myself ( I even ate one cold and it was GREAT!!!) If your brown sugar turns hard, if you add boiling water it will eventually disolve into a delicious carmel sauce. Be patient and keep stirring...it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I didn't read the reviews on this one before I made it, I just thought wow, that's not a bad idea and went to throw it together. I suggest you read the reviews first. I've never actually made caramel before, so I just followd the directions exactly... After I was done making the bread I put the brown sugar in the pan, over a medium heat. It took quite a while to start melting, and before it reached the consistency I was waiting for it began to smell like it was burning. When it was nearly all melted, I added the water (which was room temperature). The sugar instantly hardenend (makes sense). Obviously, there was no way to dip anything in this rock hard sheet of sugar that was floating in water, so I waited and stirred. Pretty quickly, it began boiling and the sugar was slowly melting back into the water. By now it definitely smelled funny. I thought, maybe that's the way it's supposed to smell (remember, I've never made caramel before). I continued cooking it until the sugar was basically all melted/combined with the water. Then I dipped a piece of french toast in it and tasted it; It tasted funny, too. In the end, we had french toast the old fashioned way last night, with syrup. I think I should have read the reviews first, but regardless, seems like a lot of extra work for something that (aside from the burned taste) was not that great a substitute for good old-fashioned syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
[color=blue]An Excellent recipe[/color]:-DMy husband made it for me on mothers day and I was very impressed. Very sweet, would go great with ice cream for dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Glasgow, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I found the best way to make the carmel sauce was after cooking all the french toast,add another tbsp of butter to pan then add the brown sugar stirring constantly. When it starts to melt ( in about a minute over medium heat, no higher) SLOWLY add the boiling water to the pan a little bit at a time. You can even try to add small amt of extra butter to thicken it a little. i ended up not using all of the water and just added what I needed to get it to the consistency I wanted. When all of the sugar is melted, you can gently boil it for another minute. The key is to keep the flame no higher than medium and stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
it was edible but nothing to write home about. the caramel sauce is very tricky and can burn in an instant. plus it is a sticky mess to clean off your pan. i will not make again..sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Absolutely awesome!! My son LOVES this French toast. We just think it is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Good but messy! Be sure you make this in a non-stick pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This was really good and very easy to clean up. It only took a couple minutes to make (and eat) I halfed the recipe. I found no problem with making the caramel, unlike others that reviewed it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Quick and easy to make. Very sweet. I will make this again with less sugar. If I had been diabetic, I'd be dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States