Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is great! I didn't need syrup on my toast! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Everybody loved this, but I gave one less star for the weird step with the caramel. Per other suggestions, I added boiling water soon after the brown sugar, but still ended up with little caramel rocks! I boiled it for a while, though, and just dipped the bread in the pan, then sprinkled the toffee "crisps" over the top. We, too, used almond instead of vanilla and topped it all with whipped cream. Everyone had extra helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
this recipe was amazing!!! i made it for my friend and I and he called it epically amazing!! i may have burned the caramel sauce a little but it still was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
awesome recipe! just tried and it was so yum! i added a little vanilla into the egg n milk batter...all around yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
awesome!! i followed some of the reviewers suggestions, I added some cinnamon to the egg mixture, and I boiled the water before adding the sugar, and when that was done I added a few drops of vanilla ( the recipe was halved ) and it turned out great! it wasn't too sweet like some people were saying. definitely making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I just tried this recipe and it made a beautiful french toast but, I did not find it that flavorful. My first attempt at making the syrup was a miss; for the second attempt I remembered a technique of submerging the sugar in the suggested water amount and allowing it to boil in that fashion; I added Mexican cinnamon sticks during the boiling processes as well as a tsp. of vanilla. My family enjoyed more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! We really like almond, so I added some almond extract and cinnamon to the egg mixture. I didn't read the directions carefully and still ended up with a great caramel sauce :-) After cooking all the toast, I melted 2T butter, added the brown sugar and water at the same time, let it cook down for a few minutes, and it was great! No problems with it burning, hardening, or anything :-) Great recipe! ...even though I did it wrong :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Slammin'. Why make french toast any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are awesome, but the recipe has a flaw--when making the carmel sauce DO NOT wait until the brown sugar is entirely melted or when you add the water it turns to stone! If you add the water shortly after adding the brown sugar it turns out great. I dipped them in when it was still pretty liquid-y and it harded up on the plate. It was especially amazing with cinnamon bread! Tasted like carmel rolls! Three stars only because of the flaw in the instructions, otherwise a 5 - I will keep and make again when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really tasty! I poured the caramel into a spouted cup and we poured it over the French Toast like syrup. YUM! I did follow a previous suggestion and cooked the brown sugar in 2 Tab. butter. Just as it almost melted and looked like it wanted to burn, I poured in boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States