Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Fantastic. My family loved it. I made stuffed french toast using strawberry flavored cream cheese between to slices of toast then caramelized it. First time I had the pan too hot and the caramelizing didn't work so well. I let the pan cool down a bit and it worked so much better. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this one morning for breakfast for my husband and my 5 year old daughter. Breakfast is our favorite meal and we love french toast. I was worried at first that this recipe may have been too sweet but it was DELICIOUS! I'm excited to make it again and my family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
REALLY, REALLY GOOD! Let me just say that I am not a big fan of French toast. I have tried several recipes, but have never really liked the taste. I tried this recipe today because my hubby was at work and I can experiment if it is only me eating :) Anyway, I followed the directions for the toast, adding a Tbsp. of cinnamon to the egg mixture. It tasted so good that I almost didn't make the sauce. - I did end up making it, but i think I messed it up a little. My brown sugar turned hard and then looked really dark brown after adding water. I don't know if that is the way it should look, but it tasted pretty good. I had to strain out the hard lumps of sugar to get the sauce, so that was kind of a hassle. I would ask that there be more specific directions to making the caramel sauce, but other than that, it is great. I will definitely make again (and perfect my sauce making). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
this is ordinary french toast, but the caramel concoction failed miserably. myself, like other reviewers, could not make the caramel remotely edible . it gave off a wierd smell and tasted even wierder. maybe im just a dope ,but this was a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colleen2427

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These were fantastic! If you've never made caramel, you should read some notes because it's easy to mess up. I made mine in a separate pan, cooking slow and low, while I cooked the toast. These were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoAlizeRaps

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Even my picking husband loved it, without adding anything extra. I did embellish on mine though ... I squeezed an orange wedge over the toast, and added sliced bananas and chopped walnuts. I didn't have any whipped topping tough. These went great the apple-brown sugar/maple sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Basically just french toast with caramel. I used half the amount of eggs and it turned out wonderfully! The caramel wasn't as easy as it sounded (mine turned out rather nicely but it had some gravel-like sugar left). I don't think the two go particularly well, but good effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I read several reviews 1st & then added both vanilla & cinnamon to the egg/milk mix. I also didn't use as much butter, added no salt & used egg whites only. It was a very sweet treat for breakfast. I also added the brown sugar to boiling water & added walnuts while carmelizing & just drizzled the nuts & suace over the toast. Was a quick & easy recipe. Definitely enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicbo78
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
we all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I dont eat french toast but all the kiddos really seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States