Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Its was pretty good, I'm pretty sure I did it all correctly even though I was half asleep looking for this recipe and during the making of this. I really liked it though I'll add my own personal edits in it but I would defiantly eat this again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celaya2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
While it sounded fairly simple this ultimately was more frustration than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I found the best way to make the carmel sauce was after cooking all the french toast,add another tbsp of butter to pan then add the brown sugar stirring constantly. When it starts to melt ( in about a minute over medium heat, no higher) SLOWLY add the boiling water to the pan a little bit at a time. You can even try to add small amt of extra butter to thicken it a little. i ended up not using all of the water and just added what I needed to get it to the consistency I wanted. When all of the sugar is melted, you can gently boil it for another minute. The key is to keep the flame no higher than medium and stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Good start with recipe, but it could use more detail. Caution regarding the carmel; burns very quickly...decreasing heat from medium would be helpful in directions. Also, seems the amount of carmel is extensive in directions with full coating...pic shows carmel drizzle which seems more appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
they came out absolutely beautiful the caramelize-ing sauce tasted a bit bitter but a splash of honey did the trick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
this was very good even w/out the caramel sauce. I added vanilla and then followed the directions.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
*******O U T S T A N D I N G ******* This recipe is such a keeper. We actually got a compliments from every member of the family...even me. Thank You Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Easy to make for a quick breakfast. My wife made some fresh homemade bread last night and this proved good use for one loaf. This is very rich tasting. I added a little more butter to help the brown sugar with melting, not sure I did it perfectly. I was waiting for the caramel color...it just gets a dark brown when it is done. The family loved this, and my kids are picky eaters when it comes to new meals. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is great! I didn't need syrup on my toast! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Everybody loved this, but I gave one less star for the weird step with the caramel. Per other suggestions, I added boiling water soon after the brown sugar, but still ended up with little caramel rocks! I boiled it for a while, though, and just dipped the bread in the pan, then sprinkled the toffee "crisps" over the top. We, too, used almond instead of vanilla and topped it all with whipped cream. Everyone had extra helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States