Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great recipe- Use Hawaiian bread- YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Overpowering with sweet, but it sure was yummy for the first piece or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin McIntire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I added pecans,vanilla & a little Butterscotch schnapps to the caramel as well as patience. I prepared it in a non-stick saucepan before making the french toast. I took the suggestion from another review and boiled the water. Doing that cut the time. If the brown sugar isn't cooked long enough, it can be very grainy. It takes about 4-5 minutes to melt the brown sugar and butter (on low heat) to get a good caramel consistency. When the french toast was done, I pour the pecan caramel sauce into the frying pan and coated the toast. Served it with powdered sugar (I needed some leaves raked, so I figured a little more sugar would do the trick!)and whipped cream. Put some strawberries on the plate and voila, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was awesome, didn't even need the recipe once I read it! Had to add more butter to the brown sugar to get it wet and melted then water and it turned out perfect! This is definitely a new Christmas breakfast dish. Used homemade bread also da best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was soooooooooo good! All thumbs up here. I will admit I had a Lil trouble with the Carmel, but did figure it out. And we'll worth it.... Will definitely make again. I added vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley M Stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
RE: carmel sauce. START with the brown sugar & butter only. When it starts to slightly bubble turn stove down & let it boil ever so gently & stir. That should be the end of any burning or any other problems. And of course what would it be without cinnamon, but not tooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Boehm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Skinner Parham
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Me and my daughter did this recipe just add it said EXCEPT we added the water (straight out the faucet) one spoon at a time and it didn't get hard or anything. That's the only thing o suggest is put the water in A LITTLE AT A TIME and it'll turn out great! Also Make sure u have enough butter in the pan and it shouldn't burn at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as written and thought it was delicious. I do agree that making the caramel sauce was a little difficult as I have never made it that way. I didn't get the brown sugar to melt as much as I think I was supposed to. But the end result was little brown sugar pebbles which I thought added to the dish making the french toast a little crisp. Very good! I'm dreading cleaning the plan though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is quite easy and yummy. My boyfriend wanted me to skip the caramelized sauce to save on calories. It didn't take away the flavor. I did sneak in 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp vanilla and since I already had 1/2&1/2, I used 1/4 cup of that and 1% milk. Used lite syrup with the dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States