Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe simply doesn't work as written. I reduced the heat to melt the brown sugar, but it immediately clumped when I added the water. By adding a bit more water, beating the clumps with the back of a spoon to break them apart, and slowly heating the mixture on low heat, I was able to dissolve the clumps. We both found the taste to be disappointing since it tasted only of strong brown sugar. The sauce was very sticky and unappealing, and the taste of the French toast itself was nothing special. When I can't finish something I've made I have to give it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is one of the best french toast recipes I've used. I boiled the water before adding to the sugar as suggested by others. I also added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I felt like French toast so I decided to try this new recipe for my fiancé. I added cinnamon to the egg mixture. I used less butter when frying the bread & most of the 4tbs in the caramelization process. I'm glad I read the reviews because boiling water made more sense & helped breakdown the sugar. You do have to watch the sugar because it can burn easy so I added the boiling water earlier leaving the sugar/butter on direct heat for only a short time. Overall a great meal, very filling, I used potato bread this time but next time may try a cinnamon swirl. My fiancé said it was the best he’d ever had because it was so different & didn’t need syrup although I did sprinkle w/ powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNLfunny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
extremely good! for a little different flavour, I also add a little drop of almond flavouring. Definately need to go for a VERY long walk after these to burn off that extra calorie or two! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe is probably, hands down, the best I have made for french toast! It is easy to follow and included ingredients that I already had. I used Cinnamon Swirl bread and it was amazing. The caramel part was a little tricky. Just let the brown sugar heat up, but not clump. Boil the water and then mix it in with the sugar. I mixed it for about 5-7 min to get my chunks out.But chunks or no chunks, best recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My kids loved this recipe! I did boil the water first like others had suggested, other than that I stuck to exactly what was written and I will definitely be pulling this recipe out for special breakfast occassions~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is the BEST french toast that I have ever had! My whole family loved it -even my picky husband! It didn't even need syrup! I will definatly be adding this one to our favorites!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
this recipe was awesome. the whole family loved it so I will definitely be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this for my husband for father's day and we loved it. The carmelizing was a little off for me too. You have to control the tempurature. Next time I make it I will take the other advice of boiling the water first. I should've read the reviews first. I might want to add cinamon and vanilla next time. The Brown sugar takes the place of maple syrup and you can sprinkle with powdered sugar. Yum! Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam gile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is absolutely the best french toast. I didnt change anything and it is great. I made this today for my family and everyone had great reviews. My husband likes his french toast very sweet and this hit the spot. This is definately a keeper in our household. Thanks for the great recipe. Lovada in Seattle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States