Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Seriously one of the most delicious and easy to make soups I've ever had/done! I used black pepper and regular cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Don't love onions? Try this teensy edit! This is the most amazing recipe, and my go-to for making soups! Made it for my husband's family for Christmas and they loved it! I pretty much eyeball everything in the kitchen, so I don't know if I edited the quantities of the recipe a bit.. usually just do it to taste. As far as stock goes, I use 3 cups of broth and a stock pot and if I need more broth, pour it in to taste. Only changes: I HATE onions unless I can't taste them (don't mind the flavour of the caramelised onions, but still can't eat them plain, so when I make this, I always do the onions separately with a little brown sugar, some olive oil and balsamic vinegar (or raspberry wine or some other sweetish vinegar) until they are pretty mushy. After it's cooked, I put the onion in the food processor so I can't distinguish any onion texture. Taking this extra step to pan-caramelise and puree makes a huge difference and I think adds a fantastic touch for those who find onions too strong. Then I cook the squash, which I find take more than 5 minutes every time (maybe I have my cubes too big?) and add the onions in when the squash is done. I think I used the amount of cream the recipe called for, but as I said, I eyeball and do to taste. Didn't have any white pepper on hand, just used regular, so I can't say anything on that front. SO, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I cut down the cream cheese and added 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Instead of sautéing the onions, I cut into quarters, cut the butternut into a little bit bigger sized pieces, drizzled both with olive oil and spices, and roast in 425 oven for 40 mins. After which, I cooled, puréed and added to soup pan. I also added 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to the soup while cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Perfect just as it is. My favorite butternut soup recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've been on a soup-making kick all winter and this is tops! I made it exactly per the recipe except for substituting vegetable broth, as I'm a vegetarian. It has just a delicious combination of sweet and savory taste--nice complex flavors. It's not easy to make, what with all the squash chopping, but I'm afraid there's no getting out of making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe was absolutely delicious. We left the cream out to be added per bowl by personal taste, but I thought it was perfect without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this - the hardest part was peeling the butternut squash. The rest was a total breeze and it came out absolutely perfect. A little sweet and a little savory. I definitely recommend this - even if you aren't an onion fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very yummy! I tried roasting the squash in the oven for 30 minutes, then mashing it and adding it to the caramelized onions and proceeding from there. A bit salty for us, so I'd half the salt and add more to taste. Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Made the soup with vegetable broth instead and followed the rest as it said. Pretty good Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was FANTASTIC. I made it for my parents as a Sunday lunch, paired with a baked pork tenderloin. The only part that took any time was peeling and cubing the butternut squash, which I had never worked with before this recipe. I didn't add more white pepper than the 1 tsp, because it can get a little overpowering. Definitely a new family favorite- and SO inexpensive! It makes a LOT and is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States