Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Tasty and easy! I cut down to 2 tsp of salt and just 1/4 cup of cream, was all I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could! Wow! Unbelievably delicious! I followed the recipe except that I added a pinch of cinnamon -- just a pinch. While I love white pepper, I was surprised to see it in the ingredient list for this soup because it's got such a unique flavor, one that definitely does not belong in this recipe. I opted for freshly cracked black pepper. I shared some of this soup with some coworkers and everyone asked for the recipe. 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved the soup so creamy and tasty. The only change I made was to cut the honey in half as I find butternut squash soups can be a little to sweet. Very simple to make. Bought the squash pre cut. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is great! I made the mistake of making it in a cast-iron dutch oven though, and the soup turned a light brown color- not attractive! Added silken tofu instead of cream to add protein. I usually like apple in my butternut soup as well, and it would've been a nice addition- next time I will add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I liked this soup much more than variations which call for roasting the squash. I cut down the fat by omitting the butter and using light instead of heavy cream. I used an immersion blender which is quickly becoming my favorite kitchen tool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe, and it was a hit with my fussy teenage daughter! As someone else mentioned cutting up the butternut squash was the hardest part, otherwise very easy to make. I also reduced the amount of cream used and anyone making it should be aware, the white pepper has quite a kick! If your not into spicy food reduce the pepper somewhat but otherwise a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good, though I didn't use the cream, too many calories; I pealed and chopped 3 small potatoes and let them cook with the squash, once blended it has a very creamy texture. Used garlic black pepper as no white in house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I substituted chicken bullion and had to use milk with extra melted butter instead of heavy cream. Tasted delightful! My picky husband and 21 month old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! I substituted the cream with almond milk due to food allergies and it was great! I also added a pinch of cinammon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States