Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
A very good friend whose judgment I trust talked me into making these. I didn't tell her that I turned my nose up at the recipe when I read it. I didn't even like making these, and looked forward even less to eating them. Imagine my taste buds' surprise to find they liked these! Good flavor arises from the caramelization of the onions and brussels sprouts, the little bit of sugar is just enough to eliminate the bitterness brussels sprouts can have, and the roasted, salted pistachios I used were the perfect complement, both in taste and appearance. This just proves what moms like to say, that you should try something before you say you don't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I like the idea behind this recipe, however adding the vinegar with the onions prevents carmelization. Next time I'll carmelize the onions in butter and THEN add the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
We thought this was pretty good but the whole Brussels sprout did not have a lot of flavor. I will make this again cutting the Brussels sprouts in half to absorb more flavors and add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Wonderful and tasty. I used 2 pounds of frozen baby brussels sprouts rather than the 4 pounds called for. I also minced the onion and added 4 cloves of minced garlic. I steamed the sprouts until soft and then let them sit a while before serving to absorb the flavors. Got rave reviews. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
Extremely tasty, with no bitterness. I use toasted pecans rather than pistachios, to remind me of a similar recipe I enjoyed at Stephen Pyles' Star Canyon restaurant in Dallas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
these were fabulous... I used regular onions and cut the recipe down to about a third of the size (it was just me and my boyfriend eating). The only thing I would change the next time I make this is to break up the leaves, or even just cut the brussel sprouts in half. The middle did get a bit tender, but with not that much flavor. Opening the sprouts up will allow some of the delicious flavor to get to the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was a little bit of work to prepare, but it tasted so great that it was worth it. We had it for Thanksgiving and it was by far the most commented on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
this one was right on time, baby! took it to church and they ate it up. shamed my husband who said, "man, i don't wanna be the guy who brings brussles sprouts!" HA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
By far the best I've ever tasted, let alone prepared myself. I used maui sweet onion and pecans instead, because I didn't have red onion or pistachios. My husband even liked this recipe, and he usually hates brussel sprouts. Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Jacumba, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
One word...YUMMMMMMM. I don't like brussel sprouts cooked the traditional way - steamed with butter. This recipe is so incredibly flavorful and my husband wants to know when I'll make it again. This one's going in the cookbook to save! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Be

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States