Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I was really skeptical about steaming my brussel sprouts since they are not my favorite vegetable and a good saute helps. I was wrong. These are awesome! I didn't measure my pistachios but I feel quite sure that I added more than called for. Do NOT leave them out. They made the dish come together. Both of my young children ate these without a single complaint and they are also hubby approved. Oh, I also scaled the recipe back to two servings and it fed my family of four with plenty of leftovers so don't pay attention to the serving sizes posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
this wasn't for me. I loved the pistacios and the carmelized onions and should have kept it at that instead of adding the vinegar. Not a popular dish at my large family dinner. Nothing wrong with the recipe, just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious. It was very good and made eating healthy brussel sprouts very delicious and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were delicious. It got a thumbs up from my husband which is not easy when it comes to Brussels sprouts! I followed other's advice and caramelized the onions before adding the red wine and I cut the sprouts in half before steaming. The only other change I made was I substituted brown sugar for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
A delicious way to have brussel sprouts! I used the large container they sell at BJ's and cut them in half before steaming for about 12 min. Then followed the recipe exactly. They were a hit with the whole family, even those who had never liked brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Delicious! Don't add vinegar until adding brussel sprouts. I used 12 sprouts - use at least 20 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Onalaska, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Yum! Now this is the way to eat Brussels sprouts! I made the dish just as the recipe suggested and it turned out beautifully. So beautifully that I even made it again the next day. If you are serving Brussels sprouts for people you aren't sure will like the vegetable, this is a great dish to entice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is so very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great base recipe! I altered it by using sweet onions instead of red onions, balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, and brown sugar instead of white sugar. As the other reviews suggested, be sure to chop off the stems and instead of coursely chopping the sprouts, I just halved them all. I don't have a steamer, so I just added two tablespoons of water in a pot with the sprouts set at just a little below medium to steam them (with the lid on until they were slightly tender), before sautéing them. These alterations worked out great for me! Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States