Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic. Watch the steaming time-- mine were a little too cooked at 8 mins. Should have done 6 & would have been perfect-- but it's still our favorite sprout recipe. And EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I did like recipe and there were 2 thumbs up all around the table. Not the usual reaction to brussel sprouts in my home. Next time I make this I will use a yellow, not a red onion. I will also try using balsamic, not red wine vinegar. Like other reviewers, after steaming I cut the sprouts in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
They didn't exactly "caramelize" as I'd expected but they were still good. The pistachios definitely make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS - these are amazing!!! I started caramelizing the onions in butter with a little salt while steaming the sprouts, then threw the sprouts in as soon as they were done. Took quite a bit longer to caramelize them but glad I waited to add vinegar & sugar because they were incredible like this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I don't like Brussel Sprouts, and still don't after trying this recipe but my husband liked them and my kids each at one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
put some fried pieces of bacon in the mix it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I waited to add the vinegar until I added the brussel sprouts back into the onions. We absolutely loved this dish and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I am rather amazed by this recipe. I love Brussels sprouts, and I assumed I would enjoy this dish, but I was totally blown away by how flavorful these little heads of awesomeness were! I have had Brussels sprouts prepared 6 ways from Sunday, and I daresay this is my new favorite. And, I mean, there isn't even any bacon in these!!! My daughter put a couple on her plate and bit into one on her way to sit down- she immediately did a U-turn and loaded up her plate with more. I followed the recipe exactly, but halved it to serve 4...I think they would still be all gone had I made the full recipe. Yum! Thanks GODGIFU! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a surprising dish, we really loved it! In fact, one of my sisters threatened to eat it all if the third sister didn't arrive soon! I had only white onions on hand, so I used those. I also cut down the amount of onion. I used pecans in place of the pistachios because that's what was in the house. It's a pretty versatile dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I messed up a few things but it was really good. Like other reviewers said, don't add the vinegar right away, it will mess up the onions and they won't caramelize. Anyway, I had 1 lb of brussels sprouts, I only have earth balance spread because I don't buy dairy butter, and I only had apple cider vinegar. I didn't use much vinegar, as I was unsure about the substitution. I also maybe steamed the sprouts longer than I was supposed to. They were very tender. That's fine, I like them that way anyway. They were sweet and flavorful. What a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States