Caramelized Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Cooked the bacon for 10 - 12 minutes and instead of the cinnamon I added cayenne pepper. Sweet and spicy with the salt in the bacon is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've made this several times now and it always turns out great - no changes to the recipe. I use light brown sugar and thick cut bacon and have no trouble with it, other than it sometimes needs a smidge more time to cook. I do cut my bacon in half lengthwise - easier to fit into the pan and makes more treats. :-) In order to cut down a bit on cleanup, I have found that lining a roasting pan first with foil, then putting down a Silpat silicone mat helps (especially if you want to try rolling the bacon into twists to keep more of that sugary goodness inside). However, my favorite way to make this is by using my el-cheapo Ikea roasting pan with the wire rack inside. I line the roasting pan with 2 sheets of foil, running the foil an inch or two up each of the sides of the pan. I cook the bacon, then remove it to cool on freezer paper. Let the pan sit for a good 10 - 15 minutes, then pull the rack out. The sugar that's collected pools, then hardens, at the feet of the rack and pulls the foil out with it. Pull the foil off, throw it out, toss the rack into the dishwasher and give the pan a quick swipe with a dishrag. Easy cleanup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I cut the bacon into 1-2 inch pieces, dip each piece into maple syrup, and THEN into the brown sugar mixture. I also use nutmeg in place of cinnamon, and add a pinch of cayenne pepper for that awesome mix of sweet and hot that my family loves. This is our favorite Super Bowl snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Too much sugar, not enough cooking time and too low temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
As others suggested, definitely a higher heat and a longer cook time. But the recipe? Good god I love pig!! Coat it in sugar and well... I'm just hoping there's a 12 step group to get me through this binge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I think I will try chef john recipe next for carmalized bacon. Mainly I want to try a wet carmalizaition and not a dry one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Tough, chewy, and much too sweet. AND I had a sticky pan to clean. I rate it 2 stars because it sparked a better idea. Cook bacon as you usually do until crisp, then lightly drizzle it with a brown sugar/cinnamon sauce. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The way I made it, it came out a bit safe for our tastes. Next time I will use less sugar, more cinnamon and foil on the pan. Hope to upgrae this to a four star once I do that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
OMGosh!! Made two pounds and it was a hit!!! It was difficult determining cook time but prep was easy. Next time I will drain off the fat as the bacon is baking to see if it helps with cook time and crispiness (8 minutes definitely not -needs longer.)-I used the twist method mentioned in another review and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have never left a review before, but couldnt wait to review THIS one!!! all I can say my family said was "AWESOME MOM". I didnt get a peice, so have to go on my family's taste buds. It just vanished. I did make a mistake tho, I always buy the THICK cut. as i re-read the directions, it was supposed to be the thin sliced bacon. I just fried it first, slathered it as well as I could, it was hot, and placed in on a Pam sprayed pan. cooking time was only about 15 mins at most, as I was cooking other things in the oven too, so wasnt watching the time. My family of 9, was quite pleased!! will definately do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States