Caramelized Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Too much sugar, not enough cooking time and too low temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
As others suggested, definitely a higher heat and a longer cook time. But the recipe? Good god I love pig!! Coat it in sugar and well... I'm just hoping there's a 12 step group to get me through this binge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I think I will try chef john recipe next for carmalized bacon. Mainly I want to try a wet carmalizaition and not a dry one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Tough, chewy, and much too sweet. AND I had a sticky pan to clean. I rate it 2 stars because it sparked a better idea. Cook bacon as you usually do until crisp, then lightly drizzle it with a brown sugar/cinnamon sauce. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The way I made it, it came out a bit safe for our tastes. Next time I will use less sugar, more cinnamon and foil on the pan. Hope to upgrae this to a four star once I do that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
OMGosh!! Made two pounds and it was a hit!!! It was difficult determining cook time but prep was easy. Next time I will drain off the fat as the bacon is baking to see if it helps with cook time and crispiness (8 minutes definitely not -needs longer.)-I used the twist method mentioned in another review and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have never left a review before, but couldnt wait to review THIS one!!! all I can say my family said was "AWESOME MOM". I didnt get a peice, so have to go on my family's taste buds. It just vanished. I did make a mistake tho, I always buy the THICK cut. as i re-read the directions, it was supposed to be the thin sliced bacon. I just fried it first, slathered it as well as I could, it was hot, and placed in on a Pam sprayed pan. cooking time was only about 15 mins at most, as I was cooking other things in the oven too, so wasnt watching the time. My family of 9, was quite pleased!! will definately do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was not my idea of bacon. It was sticky, way too sweet and tough. I'll stay with the natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I make this with blueberry pancakes....everybody loves it. I didn't have anything in the house but Splenda blend brown suger and that gave this an even better flavor. I bake it at 425 until it starts to brown...I watch it carefully...2 slices could be done, you take those out turn your back for 2 minutes and the rest are toast....! So, I always cover everything in foil, spray the foil and "drain" on wax paper. I don't turn mine either. I have to hide plates of this in the cabinets if I'm making a lot - the kids won't let it cool. This is best served when cooled - otherwise you will burn your mouth - this is essentially caramel and its like lava. My girlfriend sprinkles hers with cayenne pepper, cuts it up and serves it as an appetizer with toothpicks in it at parties. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I usually add pure maple syrup to my bacon while cooking, and add the bacon to my potato salad. I used this recipe, but left out the cinnamon and added the dry mustard, as the mustard flavor blends better in the salad. It worked out beautifully. Thank you for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States