Caramel for Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Delicious! Thanks M. O'Brien for expanding the directions. This makes a wonderful old-fashioned caramel perfect for making caramel apples. MUCH better than using premade caramels. This one's a keeper! I was able to cover 10 small-med apples with this amount of caramel, with a couple of Tbsp left over (and it won't go to waste!). NOTE: Use a LARGE pot for this recipe. It more than triples in volume after the butter and cream were added. I ended up having to transfer to another vessel because it was boiling over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
AWESOME! I didn't have heavy cream, so I tried substituting a cup of whipping cream and a cup of 2% milk. I was surprised how good this turned out! I also boiled about 15 minutes after adding the butter & cream/milk to get the right viscosity. Tastes like Werther's Original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Tastes great! Thank you M.O. Your additional instructions helped tremendously! When I tried this recipe, I wanted to find something to coat an apple for an apple dipping party AND something that would make a tasty caramel. This fit the bill spectacularly. I made the sauce and re-heated it a few times to coat the apples. It didn't break and it tasted wonderful. I accidentally omitted the vanilla and that made it taste like Werther's even more, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Thank you so much for posting a recipe that doesn't call for premade caramels. I had one heck of a time finding a plain old caramel recipe for my caramel apples. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out to be a great sauce, My Husband and I used it for Ice Cream too (just kept it in a glass jar in the fridge and heated it up a bit before drizzling over dessert) We weren't sure at first, but from now on it will replace store bought caramel sauces in our house. And thank you M. O'Brien for expanding on the directions. Mine surely would have failed with out the extra information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
The directions leave something to be desired, but with a little tuning, the results are excellent. After stirring in the butter and cream, put the mixture back on the heat until the mixture reaches 234 degrees again. Bubbling will be vigorous at first and gradually die down. Watch carefully when the temperature goes past 220 again, as most of the water is cooked out at this point and the temperature rises quickly. Cool the mixture slightly, and then dip your target ingredients. Dipping apples at around 200 degrees worked well. Pour leftover caramel onto parchment paper and cool in the refrigerator. Allow to return to room temperature and cut into pieces for delicious caramel candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I followed another reviewr's suggestion to keep heating the mixture after the cream and butter are added and I have to say it was perfect! The only thing I would suggest for first time candy makers is: Stir it only enough to keep it from burning. The more you stir the slower its going to heat up! A wonderful recipie! and more the perfect for apples!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is seriously good caramel, I couldn't find my candy thermometer but it still turned out perfect, boiled for 10 minutes or so after adding the butter and cream like others. I dipped apples and poured the leftover caramel on parchment and cut and wrapped in parchment to make caramel candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I agree with M.O'Brien. I ended up cooking it for about 10-15 minutes at a steady boil.The Sauce is creamy and delicious, not too sweet. Light in color and excellent on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Cooking is not one of my talents and I rarely have luck with new recipes. But this recipe was easy and delicious, and with the additional instructions by some of the other reviewers this really turned out well. After adding the butter/cream and bringing it back to a boil, after about 10 minutes it slightly changed consistency, getting a little thicker and darker. I didn't have a candy thermometer and was delighted that it turned out well anyway. My husband and I love this caramel and will use this recipe whenever we need a caramel dip. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States