Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Great snack mix! I also found it a bit sweet the first time I made it, so the next time I used salted nuts (pecans, cashews and almonds) and also added some pretzels. It was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Absolutely addictive! Made this for our company party and had several requests for the recipe. This recipe is change friendly as far as type of nuts and that sort of thing. BE SURE to stir every few minutes after you take it out of the oven to keep it from sticking in one big glob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Great! Hard to stop eating once you start. Everyone that I gave this to has requested the recipe. I lined the pan with foil and sprayed with Pam before mixing everything. Made clean-up VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This was sooo good. It was hard to stop eating it once I started. With the pecans in this, it sort of tasted like pecan pie...which I love. I used cinnamon crispix cereal rather than the crispies and added some old fashioned oats. I used all peanuts rather than almonds and added a splash of vanilla extrat. I would have loved to have made this exactly as the recipe is written, but didn't have all of the right ingredients. This is definitely a re-do. Thanks Trish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This caramel snack mix was excellent! I only wish I had made twice as much of the coating mixture to completely cover all the cereal mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Fabulous and simply - Trish, I have used your recipe at least 20 times and it is always a BIG hit. I add dried cranberries right after taking it out of the oven; the tart/softness is a great contrast to the crunchy/crispness. (Great road trip food) Thank You, Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
You got a winning recipe! A "numero uno" in my book...I can't wait to prepare it again. One question...or two for you. How do you package it for gift giving and how long does it last? Provided that my kids do not find it first...if you have the answer please share it! Thanks a bunch for your Trish Caramel Snack Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is very good. I don't see how some can say that it is too sweet. I did add extras though, maybe that's why it doesn't seem too sweet. I made 1 and 1/2 batches of the caramel mixture and added 1tbsp vanilla extract to it. I used 1c almonds, 1c cashews, 1/2c chopped pecans, about 12oz corn Chex, and 8oz of tiny twist pretzels. It tastes perfect, not to sweet or not sweet enough. I bought the biggest disposable roasting pan I could find. I think this is a must. It makes it pretty easy to stir every 15 minutes while it's in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great recipe! I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, using Chex Multigrain cereal, almonds and pecans. I left the nuts whole, and toasted them in the oven first. I saw several 'bad' reviews, and I believe most of them complained about stickiness of the finished product. These same reviewers stated that they 'had' to increase the cook time for the coating in the microwave to get it to the hard crack stage. That's their mistake right there! Like the recipe says, you just put it in the microwave until the butter melts! Stir it and pour it over your cereal mixture. I couldn't find my roaster so I used 2-9x13 cake pans, then dumped it on sheets of quick release foil and spread it out. It took almost no time to cool and didn't have to be stirred. Next time I'm going to try adding some cinnamon and vanilla as others suggested. Great recipe, Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this for a trial run as it sounded good for Christmas. I did not change the recipe. I never do the first time I make something. I live at 5500 feet above sea level so it took about three minutes for my butter to melt in the microwave and that did not include the time it took for me to stir it!! I buttered my hands after adding the hot butter/brown sugar/corn syrup mixture so I could mix it together and be careful and not break up the cereal. After reading all of the other comments on the cereal clumping up after coming out of the oven, I put it on cookie sheets covered with silpat sheets (could use parchment paper) and I did not even have to touch them at all. I did have a problem with my better half...I could not keep him OUT of the mix as it cooled. He loves it!! I am diabetic so I can not eat it. But if he loves it, that is fine with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States