Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
OMG this is good, its still in the oven and each time I give it a stir I have another taste test you know quality assurance is so important. Hopefully there will be some left by the time it comes out of the oven. thanks for a great recipe. I have foolishly tried similar recipes and none of them have measured up. I have used the caramel from this recipe but only used a mixture of nuts, it was magnificent. I will stick with this recipe as nothing remotely compares to the excellant results at the end. Once again thanks for a real winner...............chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Yep, good snackin stuff! I really can see why people would package this and give as gifts. Buttery and sweet, but not too much of either one...just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela B.
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very very good. I recently took this to our family's 4th of July picnic. I had a few people ask for the recipe. I made some minor alterations to change to my liking. 1. I doubled the syrup for 2 reasons: First, I bought a bigger box of Chex cereal and I added pretzles. Second, I want everything throughly coated. (It definitely was!) 2. I also added cinnamon and a splash of vanilla like some other posters have said. It really added to it. 3. I used mixed nuts and chopped them with my chopper first. I will be making this to take on our vacation. I will be doubling the cereal and adding pretzle sticks (I used the regular pretzles this time). I will also probably try just almonds and peanuts for my vacation batch. ALSO: KEEP stirring about every 5 minutes while cooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is delicious. I did not notice it said to use "chopped" pecans and I used pecan halves. I think it turned out great. The pecan halves were very good with the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Great recipe! Always a crowd pleaser. Even better when you add a bag of the chocolate/caramel swirl chips to make it a bit chocolatey. Just melt it right in with the rest of the ingredients. You must continue to stir this about every 15 minutes after it comes out of the oven to prevent it from forming into a large clump (for about 1 hour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a great sweet snack. I will try to make variations in the future but it's great just as is. Definatley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good snack mix. I used mixed nuts. I also lined my pan with foil, so it was an easy cleanup. The recipe makes plenty of caramel to coat all of the mix. Just remember to stir,stir,stir! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I made this to take to work. It was simple enough that I made a double batch. Everyone loved it and most of it was gone by noon time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
not enough stars to rate this!!! absoulutely FANTASTIC!!! a huge hit and have passed along the recipe and the website to friends and family!!thanks for submitting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful recipe - perfect for giving at Christmastime. We made the recipe exactly as stated (with the single addition of 2 teas. vanilla) and it came out PERFECTLY. We used a giant disposable roasting pan and it held the entire giant batch with room for plenty of stirring. The pieces came out beautifully, each piece coated thinly with glossy, crispy caramel. I think the key is stirring in the oven every 15 minutes without fail, and plenty of stirring as the mix cools. We made this yesterday afternoon and today it is still crispy and delicious - even here in rainy Seattle. This one is going in my favorite recipes collection - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States