Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This mix is awesomely delicious. I haven't taken it yet to it's destination but I hope I don't make myself sick eating it before I get it there! I needed to double the recipe. When I got it all mixed with the cereal and nuts it seemed like it was still awfully gooey so I added more dry ingredients and still had plenty to cover the mix. I used 14 oz of corn chex, 17 oz cinnamon crunch, about 3/4 lb pretzel twists, 2 c. pecans and 1 1/2 c whole almonds. Once I'd baked it I turned it out onto rimmed cookie sheets so that it would be in a single layer and then tossed it as it cooled with two spatulas, like tossing a salad. It cooled nicely and didn't glob up. I suspect if you use the ratio with more sugar/butter mix to the dry ingredients it would have more of a tendency to stick together and be more candy-like. However, mine turned out plenty caramel-ly! It's a little labor intensive since you have to turn it every 15 minutes then toss while cooling and I made a sticky mess of several pans and utensils, but it's worth it! Definitely a keeper and I can see how, if you take this to a group, you'll be commanded to keep bringing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Must use Crispex. No substitutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe! I added cinnamon as another reviewer suggested. Very easy and no problems with clumping together. Everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Its a great recipe, but since I'm allgeric to nuts and I have family memebers who are allergic to nuts, I have to use potato chips. It's still great, but I won't puff up in the middle of the night after I eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrysDannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made this for my brother in law's drive across American, and it is soooooo good. I hope some actually gets to him :(. I did find it a little sweet as others mentioned, but no sure how to alleviate it and not sure I want to. Had to stir it about twice after pulling it out, every 15 minutes (it was pretty clumpy on the second stir) and then it was dry. Don't worry about coating it all before it goes into the oven - the caramel liquifies in the oven, so on the first and second stir, everything will get coated evenly. This would be the perfect thing to make for Christmas food gifts - it is so easy and it makes a ton at a time. Might try the cinnamon Life next time - that sounds like the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
FANTASTIC! I use any kinds of cereal I have on hand, dry roasted peanuts, stick pretzels and add M&Ms in as well. Pain in the butt if the mixture doesn't get stirred enough while cooling but is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Served this as a snack at by book club meeting. Got rave reviews. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlaDeb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe! I make this for the holidays & its always gone in a flash! Thanks for posting this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is very good. It's very crunchy which I like. I failed to stir it as it was cooling so I had to break it up a bit, but that was my fault so I give it 5 stars. I used peanuts instead of almonds because my husband doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I need to add another 5 stars!! THE PROS: Delicious, very easy and economical to make, and since the main ingredient is healthy cereal, not quite as bad for you as most snack foods (eaten in moderation, of course). THE CON: This stuff is so addictive, it's hard to stop eating it. The recipe makes a LOT, but after a day, you'll be asking, "Where'd it all go?" Tastes kind of like Honey Bunches of Oats cereal and a little like pecan pie (as another reviewer stated). Someone said theirs came out sticky, but mine wasn't sticky at all. I cooled it on a large silicone mat. It cooled very quickly and broke up nicely. I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States