Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have this exact recipe but it is made from start to finish in the microwave. Mine says to cook the butter,syrup,and brown sugar for 2 min. in the microwave and stir. Then cook 2 min. more. Put the cereal into a large microwavable bowl and pour syrup mixture over to coat,stirring gently. Microwave an additional 4 min. stirring every minute. Pour on parchment paper to cool and break apart. I add peanuts,pretzels and choc. covered candies when cool. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
A very good recipe! I added 1 tsp cinnamon, but otherwise followed directions exactly, stirring as directed, and was very happy with the results. It was a crowd-pleaser at a Thanksgiving dinner yesterday, and I'm about to make it again for my family, who won't have to share this batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made it with whole pecans and cashews. Very good. I still was surprised that the nuts got a little bit too brown. But, it's an excellent crunchy munchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I always add unsalted, dry-roasted peanuts to this mix and bake it in a huge turkey roasting pan. When I lay it out for cooling, I use parchment paper, and spread it out as far as possible in a thin layer so I don't end up with huge clumps. Then I put about a cup & a half in sandwich sized ziploc bags for storage, or for giving out. My family absolutely LOVES this recipe. It is the best Chex Mix recipe we have ever tried, far superior to any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Really good and easy. I used about 2/3 of the sugar mix on the cereal and it was fine. The cereal and nuts were well coated and it made the mix less likely to clump. Spread out on parchment paper to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I just finished making this mix, and it turned out perfect. I did make a few alterations. I used 2/3 c + 1 Tbsp. sugar, left out some of the nuts. I made part of it without nuts as I am not supposed to eat nuts. It was good but not quite what I expected. Next time I will use a recipe that has condensed milk in it to make it more of a caramel flavor instead of a toffee flavor. My husband likes it, so that is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Following the recipe exactly, I would give it 10 stars! I may add some things next time just to change it up, but overall great recipe! Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazingly good. Great for gift giving. And where as I made this recipe and rated it according to the exact directions. I later made it gluten free by using a gluten free butter substitute. Everyone loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is the easiest and most diversified recipe for fast gifts or parties.. have just made my 4th batch... you can use anything, I like to add pretzels..this last time it was chex cereal, small pretzels, (all I had}, & added raisins...looks delish.. no microwave but easy to melt on top of stove... one thing I figured out early on, you must stir as directed both in the oven & once out.. everyone I gave this to, loved it!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe rocks! I made this for Christmas as an appetizer just before dinner. I believe I will make it again before the Super Bowl! I added cinnamon sugar after the first stir. It was absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLEE98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States