Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Love this snack mix and make it every year about this time. Package it and give most of it away, but always keep some for myself too! I use organic multi-grain cereal, increase the quantity of both pecans and almonds (and chop the almonds)to about 3 cups total. When I take it out of the oven I dump it onto parchment paper and spread it out and let it cool for about 3 hours. No problems with stickiness or a big lump of mix and I don't have to keep stirring either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is very good. I don't see how some can say that it is too sweet. I did add extras though, maybe that's why it doesn't seem too sweet. I made 1 and 1/2 batches of the caramel mixture and added 1tbsp vanilla extract to it. I used 1c almonds, 1c cashews, 1/2c chopped pecans, about 12oz corn Chex, and 8oz of tiny twist pretzels. It tastes perfect, not to sweet or not sweet enough. I bought the biggest disposable roasting pan I could find. I think this is a must. It makes it pretty easy to stir every 15 minutes while it's in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I found this recipe very easy to make. I added pretzels and cashews to make it less sweet. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I love this caramel chex mix recipe. I don't always put the nuts and I usually add small pretzels. It is addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great recipe! I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, using Chex Multigrain cereal, almonds and pecans. I left the nuts whole, and toasted them in the oven first. I saw several 'bad' reviews, and I believe most of them complained about stickiness of the finished product. These same reviewers stated that they 'had' to increase the cook time for the coating in the microwave to get it to the hard crack stage. That's their mistake right there! Like the recipe says, you just put it in the microwave until the butter melts! Stir it and pour it over your cereal mixture. I couldn't find my roaster so I used 2-9x13 cake pans, then dumped it on sheets of quick release foil and spread it out. It took almost no time to cool and didn't have to be stirred. Next time I'm going to try adding some cinnamon and vanilla as others suggested. Great recipe, Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very yummy! Next time I may add some pretzel sticks too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I say it's a four, but my husband says it's a five. Either way, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Wurtz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Can we only do 5 stars??? This is awesome. Everyone I make it for loves it. Always requested from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this. One thing I did notice was that the cereal started to get very dark and some pieces started to burn. My oven doesn't usually run hot, so I kept a close eye on the pan. I stirred every 10 minutes once I noticed the cereal getting so dark. And then I ended up taking the pan out 20 minutes early. I kept stirring every 10 minutes once it was cooling. It was nice and crunchy and sweet. I just picked out the burnt pieces. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Definitely a keeper! I increased the mixture by another half of everything - just to make sure everything was nicely coated. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States