Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I make this so much people started calling it Margie's Snack Mix. I prefer sliced almonds and I add a bag of dried cranberries while cooling. I think the tartness of the cranberry goes well with the sweetness of the snack mix and it looks nice packaged up as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBSAMUEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this for a trial run as it sounded good for Christmas. I did not change the recipe. I never do the first time I make something. I live at 5500 feet above sea level so it took about three minutes for my butter to melt in the microwave and that did not include the time it took for me to stir it!! I buttered my hands after adding the hot butter/brown sugar/corn syrup mixture so I could mix it together and be careful and not break up the cereal. After reading all of the other comments on the cereal clumping up after coming out of the oven, I put it on cookie sheets covered with silpat sheets (could use parchment paper) and I did not even have to touch them at all. I did have a problem with my better half...I could not keep him OUT of the mix as it cooled. He loves it!! I am diabetic so I can not eat it. But if he loves it, that is fine with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I made this for a potluck and everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
thanks so much for this yummy recipe! now i can use up that bottom of the box cereal my kids don't seem to eat! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
So good!! I used Crispex & mixed nuts from The Dollar Tree. When I took it out of the oven I stirred it for about 10 minutes in front of a fan-nothing stuck together-It was NOT like peanut brittle-it was perfect! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was fabulous, I will definitely be making this again, and again, oh yeah, I found that the nuts were a bit expensive, so I bought alittle of both kinds, and add pretzel.....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett Daves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was AMAZING. I have tried many different recipes from this site and I am always impressed. This was no different. I kept the sauce the same but used rice cereal, party peanuts and pretzels. So diverse. I have a family of 7 and needed a snack for my little ones to take to school. They were all eating it as soon as it colled off. I will definately be using this for teacher gifts at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is relatively easy and a real crowd pleaser. We've served it at tailgates several times; it is always the first snack to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I always brown my butter, and used way more cereal..like almost 3/4 of a box each of rice, corn and wheat and used a can of gourmet nuts..no peanuts and also added cheerio type cereal for some interest...FAB!sweet enough but not as sweet It seemed like a lot of caramel when I started tossin it... Happy fourth of July...my first review and this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was good- I added pretzels and used mixed nuts, and wheat chex instead of corn or rice. In the future I would follow the recipe more closely. My husband loved it and ate half of it in one day. I gave four instead of five because I thought that the overall flavor was not very exciting- just sweet. I did add some course salt as I was stirring to cool it down- I would definitely do that next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States