Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Everyone loved it. Daughter wants more just to bring for school snack. Think next time we are going to try to add pretzels to bring a salt element. Very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So easy and a big hit with everyone! I've made it twice now with great success and little cleanup. I lined two half sheet pans with foil and sprayed them with butter flavored non-stick spray. I added a handful of pretzel snaps and used pecan halves. Melt the butter, sugar and syrup in the microwave until the butter is melted and the sugar is dissolved. Stir it well. This took more than 2 minutes in my microwave, it took about 4. This is not a cooking stage, the mixture will caramelize from its time in the oven. Stir every 15 minutes with a silicone spatula, gently stirring and turning the cereal and nuts so they all get some coating. After the hour, I poured it all out on my kitchen counter which I lined with parchment paper. Here I stirred until cool, again gently. After a few minutes you can put your hands into it and spread it out/stir some more. After it's completely cool, put it in an air tight container. Looks pretty in cellophane gift bags with a pretty ribbon. Thanks for the recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
We love this sweet mix any time of the year. We skip the nuts and throw in a couple more cups of cereal. And we've tried using Chex, but Crispex is just MADE for this recipe, it works perfect. The stirring at the end is crucial so it won't be in a blob. It's a great sweet to have at the holidays that's not a cookie or fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow. This is one awesome recipe! I made some to give away as Christmas treats and Better Half was SO upset that I didn't save any for us. He promptly went out and bought the ingredients for our own batch. It's that good. It turned out perfectly, but I did have to work very hard to get it out of the baking pan after it cooled. I think I should've kept stirring it until it was cool enough to take out. I'll be reading the other reviews to see how others avoided that problem. Thanks for this super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Yum! Didn't have butter so I used margarine, still turned out great. I had enough butter mixture to cover all the cereal. No need to double it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I had no trouble with clumping, etc. I added a handful of roasted almonds and pecans just because we like a lot of nuts. It is good to drizzle around as much as possible before putting it in the oven. Next time, I might add some cinnamon and cayenne just to add a little kick! Great recipe Trish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Just finished making the traditional Chex Mix when I saw this recipe. I used the remainder of all three cereals to make this and it is wonderful! Will do it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This mix is awesomely delicious. I haven't taken it yet to it's destination but I hope I don't make myself sick eating it before I get it there! I needed to double the recipe. When I got it all mixed with the cereal and nuts it seemed like it was still awfully gooey so I added more dry ingredients and still had plenty to cover the mix. I used 14 oz of corn chex, 17 oz cinnamon crunch, about 3/4 lb pretzel twists, 2 c. pecans and 1 1/2 c whole almonds. Once I'd baked it I turned it out onto rimmed cookie sheets so that it would be in a single layer and then tossed it as it cooled with two spatulas, like tossing a salad. It cooled nicely and didn't glob up. I suspect if you use the ratio with more sugar/butter mix to the dry ingredients it would have more of a tendency to stick together and be more candy-like. However, mine turned out plenty caramel-ly! It's a little labor intensive since you have to turn it every 15 minutes then toss while cooling and I made a sticky mess of several pans and utensils, but it's worth it! Definitely a keeper and I can see how, if you take this to a group, you'll be commanded to keep bringing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Must use Crispex. No substitutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States