Caramel Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great recipe! I made this exactly as stated in the recipe, using Chex Multigrain cereal, almonds and pecans. I left the nuts whole, and toasted them in the oven first. I saw several 'bad' reviews, and I believe most of them complained about stickiness of the finished product. These same reviewers stated that they 'had' to increase the cook time for the coating in the microwave to get it to the hard crack stage. That's their mistake right there! Like the recipe says, you just put it in the microwave until the butter melts! Stir it and pour it over your cereal mixture. I couldn't find my roaster so I used 2-9x13 cake pans, then dumped it on sheets of quick release foil and spread it out. It took almost no time to cool and didn't have to be stirred. Next time I'm going to try adding some cinnamon and vanilla as others suggested. Great recipe, Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very yummy! Next time I may add some pretzel sticks too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I say it's a four, but my husband says it's a five. Either way, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Can we only do 5 stars??? This is awesome. Everyone I make it for loves it. Always requested from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this. One thing I did notice was that the cereal started to get very dark and some pieces started to burn. My oven doesn't usually run hot, so I kept a close eye on the pan. I stirred every 10 minutes once I noticed the cereal getting so dark. And then I ended up taking the pan out 20 minutes early. I kept stirring every 10 minutes once it was cooling. It was nice and crunchy and sweet. I just picked out the burnt pieces. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Definitely a keeper! I increased the mixture by another half of everything - just to make sure everything was nicely coated. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
OMG this is good, its still in the oven and each time I give it a stir I have another taste test you know quality assurance is so important. Hopefully there will be some left by the time it comes out of the oven. thanks for a great recipe. I have foolishly tried similar recipes and none of them have measured up. I have used the caramel from this recipe but only used a mixture of nuts, it was magnificent. I will stick with this recipe as nothing remotely compares to the excellant results at the end. Once again thanks for a real winner...............chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Yep, good snackin stuff! I really can see why people would package this and give as gifts. Buttery and sweet, but not too much of either one...just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela B.
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very very good. I recently took this to our family's 4th of July picnic. I had a few people ask for the recipe. I made some minor alterations to change to my liking. 1. I doubled the syrup for 2 reasons: First, I bought a bigger box of Chex cereal and I added pretzles. Second, I want everything throughly coated. (It definitely was!) 2. I also added cinnamon and a splash of vanilla like some other posters have said. It really added to it. 3. I used mixed nuts and chopped them with my chopper first. I will be making this to take on our vacation. I will be doubling the cereal and adding pretzle sticks (I used the regular pretzles this time). I will also probably try just almonds and peanuts for my vacation batch. ALSO: KEEP stirring about every 5 minutes while cooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is delicious. I did not notice it said to use "chopped" pecans and I used pecan halves. I think it turned out great. The pecan halves were very good with the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States