Caramel Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I grew up in Scotland where this is a staple in just about every small store, large stores, coffee shops, gas stations, really pretty much everywhere. This is very authentic. You have to refrigerate a little before cutting it into squares. Use cadbury's milk chocolate as the Scots do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Odette64
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was delish! I decided to make individual tarts. I pressed the dough into muffin tins and made a little rim up the side. It only took about 10 minutes to brown. Used dark brown sugar in the carmel. Spooned about a tablespoon slightly cooled carmel into each tart, then droozled melted semisweet chocolate over the tart with a pastry bag. In order to get a good consistency on the chocolate, I melted it in the microwave, then added a little butter, milk and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aruff
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I was recently craving coconut twix which I can't find in the stores anymore. So I thought I would try this recipe with a little bit of a twist. I put coconut in the shortbread instead of almonds. THen I also added coconut extract to the caramel after I removed it from the heat. Once it was completely cooled (used the freezer), I cut them in rectangular bars and coated them with chocolate. They were so delicious if you love coconut, which I do! A note on the caramel, i did get quite a bit of excess butter that I tried to take out of the caramel. Also, the bars were a bit thick for my tasted so I would probably used a 9x13 pan if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruff
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beamgal
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I agree with the other reviews that the shortbread was a bit too crumbly. If I were to make it again, I would use more butter. Also, the caramel sauce would be difficult for a beginning cook. When making it, be sure to use a heavy duty stainless steel pan, nothing non stick. Despite those issues, the bars did have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
WOW this is the best thing I have ever tasted! I would give it more stars if I could!!!!!! All my children LOVED it and so did my picky mother-in-law. I did use kayro syrup as another reviewer said and I also omited the nuts. But it was just AMAZING even with the changes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've made this recipe several times over the past few years and have had tasty success each time :) Be sure to beat the crumb mixture for a long time before pressing into the pan and doing the fork-holes I also use a larger pan, I htink it's a 9x13 (glass rectangle) and that's the best change I've done. It allows each layer to be thinner so everything is less prone to crumbling but still oh so delish ;) I also cut them into teeny tiny squares, use high quality milk chocolate bar for half the pan and dark or semi-sweet with coarse sea-salt sprinkled on top for the other half. Both variations get rave reviews and I always end up making another batch before the holidays are over. (Have one baking up this moment). Give 'er a try, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KonaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT!! after using at least 4 different recipes for these squares, this one is the only one that worked!! I did make sure I read all reviews first for this any other same type recipe. After reading I did a couple different things, I didn't have almond so used same amount of extra flour, poked holes in base before baking, came out fine. I did use non stick paper with non stick spray so it would come out of pan. I let the base get stone cold before adding caramel. I did boil caramel center for the full 7 minutes and yes I got the brown flecks in it, but you couldn't notice on the end product. Still not sure it would take I poured it on the base, let it sit in fridge for 30 mins or so then went directly to freezer until stone cold. The top I used half semi chips and half milk chocolate and added tbsp of crisco to make top shiny. As caramel was very cold, chocolate started to harden almost immediatly..which was great, b/c I then was able to score the chocolate at that time. Put it back in fridge, couple hours later, it removed from pan, cut along score lines, no broken chocolate, base was fine and didn't fall apart....yummy....I love these aquares and have finally found a recipe that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Fantastic!! My sister calls these "Fake Twix bars". I've made this recipe a couple of different ways including the original and every batch got rave reviews. If you do not have ground almonds, you can substitute 1/4 cup additional flour. It's not as tasty but it still turns out delicious. Also, here in the States it might be hard to find Lyle's Golden Syrup so you can substitute light corn syrup if need be. Again, not as good but most everyone won't notice a difference. On another batch I added 1/2 tsp. of salt to the caramel mixture so there's more of a sweet/salty taste to these and they came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great! The shortbread was a little dry and crumbly but they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
these are really awesome. to ensure a good crust USE REAL BUTTER. trust me it helps and you dont need to butter your pan. make sure when you put the dough in the pan you poke holes all over it with a fork. and make sure each layers is cooled completely before adding the next layer. I didnt have light corn syup so I used golden syrup and its turned out great. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States