Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Amazing. I have not yet added the chocolate layer because I don't want it to get that white film when I freeze these bars. I'm debating not even adding it, because the piece I sampled already tastes so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I had to substitute the corn syrup with a "simple syrup" from all recipes and used treacle sugar instead of brown sugar. What a hit!!! These are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
These were so rich and yummy. My family loved them! I used milk chocolate bark on top and swirled it with white chocolate. Make sure you mix all the caramel ingredients together before you even turn on the stove top... I had all my ingredients sitting in the pot on the burner (unmixed), and the brown sugar burned on the bottom of the pan. There were brown chunks of the sugar when I was mixing, but it still turned out fine. I used an 8" glass pan, greased an floured it, and baked the shortbread for 22 mins. This recipe was relatively quick, and really didn't require many ingredients, so I'll be making these bars again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren333L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I should have known by quite a few of the reviews that this recipe had a good chance of being a frustrating, time consuming disaster. But happy day for those of you that had success. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Loved by everyone! I was looking to imitate Millionaire Bars we had with tea in London. These exceeded my expectations. Watch the caramel and stir often, reducing heat so it is just boiling. I don't melt the chocolate. I pour the caramel on the hot shortbread and lay unwrapped Hershey bars on top of the hot caramel, let them sit a few minutes, then spread(my mom's trick from making toffee- if it doesn't melt enough, pop it into the still warm oven for a minute). The hardest part is waiting for the chocolate to set! Then I sit back with a cup of tea and remember a fabulous family adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutely delish, Julia! Thanks for this easy, decadent dessert that's perfect as is. I made sure to keep stirring as I boiled the scrumptious, thick, Caramel mixture or it would burn; then really whipped with a spoon as Julia instructed after it's off the burner. Also, please check oven time with Shortbread layer as mine was done before 20 mins; ovens vary. Did my Shortbread layer in the food processor & worked fine. The Milk Chocolate layer was REALLY a nice touch! This was a hit for Mom's Birthday treat: a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Grandma even likes them! Now that's a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I discovered these at the family Christmas party and was instantly hooked. The shortbread is buttery and not too sweet and the caramel is creamy and not too gooey, all under a soft shell of chocolate. These things are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
good, very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States