Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Crumbled and the layers fell apart. With how time consuming it was to make, expected a better cookie. Save yourself the time and buy a twix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My co-workers made these disappear in ten minutes flat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyamazing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I was disappointed. Caramel becomes grainy withing a day or so - I wished the caramel were 'milkier' tasting, too, and not so sweet. The overall taste was kind of 'cheap' even though I used 8 oz of Callebault semi sweet Belgian chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Oh so good. I followed the recipe - but had a hard time with the caramel. I used a double boiler and it never seemed to get hot enough. Next time might just use one pot. Also should have made it a day ahead as the caramel was still a bit soft when I cut them. But regardless I won second prize at my yearly Christmas cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
These taste just like Twix chocolate bars. Yum. I followed others' suggestions of doubling ingredients (except the chocolate chips on top - it doesnt need it) and the freezing, chilling etc. They turned out perfect. I couldnt just stop eating them. Probably one of the best squares I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I have made these several times and always get rave reviews. Just make sure to keep stirring your caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing, and soooooo easy to make. I had EVERYONE going crazy over them and asking for the recipe. I recommend using good quality chocolate on the top (I used Belgian) it really does make all the difference. It is such an amazing treat its a shame to have cheap quality chocolate spoil it. Seriously make this, you wont regret it. I cant emphasise enough how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have made this recipe 3 times now. These taste great but there are issues with the recipe. 1st of all, double the carmel and 2nd of all the instruction to put the chocolate in the microwave has NEVER worked for me. It turns out dry and crumbly. I always end up melting even more chocolate over the stove, adding butter to make it smooth and pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious! This will be a Christmas tradition at my house. Definitely double the recipe - these are too good to run out of! I made the recipe exactly as written except doubled. Put the caramel on the shortbread after it has cooled. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
i made this recipe exactly how it is here except i added a little bit of butter to the chocolate and they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States