Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Luanne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe is wonderfull!!! I added some butter to my chocolate chips which worked great for spreading. Instead of a square or rectangle pan I used my mini muffin tray. I doubled the carmel and came out with 6 dozen equal sized treats without having to cut anything! I did put my pan in the freezer in between layers which worked great. I will recommend this recipe to all my friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were excellent! A definite add to the "do again" file (as my husband calls it). I followed some of the tips from other users and poked holes with a fork into the cookie base. I made the caramel mixture at a lower heat. I preferred eating them cold myself! Overall, one of the better squares recipes I've tried in a long, long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe. I used the suggestion to double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan and it turned out fantastic. One thing I did have trouble with was pouring the chocolate over the caramel layer (chilled of course) - the chocolate displaced the caramel so I ended up with parts of the pan with thick chocolate/thin caramel and parts with thick caramel/thin chocolate. I will definitely make these again and perhaps cool the chocolate a bit or leave the caramel in the fridge longer so I don't run into the uneven layer problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
The recipe states 40 SERVINGS, not squares. Thus, 9 X 9 = 81 one inch squares, two squares per serving....as shown in the photo. However you cut it, these are delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
The recipe should read to cut a 9x9 pan into 1 inch by 2 inch squares, in order to get about 40.5 pieces. Since 9 inches doesn't divide evenly by 2, depending on whether you cut the pan into 9 x 4 = 36, or 9 x 5 = 45, you still won't come out with "40". Most of us eyeball it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
HOLY COW!!! These are amazing! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and waited until the shortbread was cooled completely. I did not double the recipe as suggested by some reviewers because I believed that if I used a 9 x 9 inch pan (and not a 13 x 9 as I suspect some reviewers did) it would turn out fine and it did. The shortbread measurements were perfect for the size pan stated in the recipe. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and not milk chocolate as suggested by another reviewer to counteract some of the sweetness of the caramel center. These are definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Best squares EVER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great Recipe-I love these squares and have been wanting to make them for a loong time. I doubled the recipe instantly (we have 9 teenagers), boiled the caramel on n°3 out of 9 on my hob and it was brilliant. For those of you who said it was too sweet, I used unsweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
amazing. These are the best squares I think I've ever had. They were a big hit at our last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarabelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I Love these!!! They are a big hit at work or any party I go to. I send these out in tins for Xmas as well. So simple to make even my 7 year old is pretty good at making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States