Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Love these! The carmel is a little work (be sure to stir constantly to keep from burning) but well worth it. I also refrigerated the crust about 15 minutes before pouring the carmel on top. And refrigerated after the carmel layer until set and then melted the chocolate in the microwave and spread on top of the set carmel. Can't wait to serve these on my Christmas cookie trays this year. Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
THis recipe is a good start. My shortbread crumbled majorly and it was way too thick! I even pressed it into an 11 X 7" pan. I baked my crust and let it cool over night. My first batch of caramel burnt, so I had to start over. The second batch came out perfect and set up beautifully! I used about 10 oz. of milk chocolate bars and couldn't have probably used less, so I will try 6 ore 8 oz. the next time. These taste like Twix bars. The next time I will try a different crust recipe. I had no trouble cutting mine, except the crust falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3boys4me
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These taste like eating a twix bar. They're time consuming to make but worth the effort. I didn't have any milk chocolate chips so I melted some dark chocolate kisses and love the way it tastes with the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are delicious and pretty easy to make. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the shortbread and used the same amout of caramel in a 9 x 13 in. pan. I didn't want too much caramel. Use a sheet of plastic wrap to help press the dough in the pan. I placed 6 broken "Hershey" bars on the hot caramel and waited for them to melt and spread with an ofset spatula. They taste like a "Twix" candy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Ridiculously good. I tripled the recipe and it came out great. Followed the advice of other reviewers and chilled completely between each step. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are very good, however my shortbread crust was way too crumbly - I think it needed to cook a few more minutes. The caramel layer was a bit difficult to spread, so I wadded up a piece of plastic wrap and used that to press it down - worked like a charm! I had to sub semi-sweet chocolate chips because the cheap milk chocolate ones I had on hand seized up on me when I melted them. That was fine with me because I actually like semi-sweet better! I lightly greased the pan and had no problem getting these out. Very tasty and actually pretty easy to make, I'm just not completely thrilled with the bottom crust but I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the modifications outlined in some of the other reviews. Using parchment was probably THE best helpful hint. I cooled in between every stage and they turned out wonderfully! The only problem I have is getting my fiancée to stop eating them before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very good recipe. Just a couple of tips to help make them a little easier. Definitely line the pan with foil for easy cutting. Also - there is no way you can spread the chocolate without adding something. I had to add 4 Tbsp. butter to get it thin enough to spread. I used 1 cup of semi-sweet choc. chips and 1/4 cup milk choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
A grown-up twix bar. These are so good and very addictive. I doubled and did the 9 X 13 pan - I did have to cook my shortbread layer for almost 30 min to get it done all the way. The tip to score and then refrigerate, then cut was great. They came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Fantastic! I did cool the shortbread for quite awhile based on other recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States