Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
While good in concept, this recipe didn't quite work out for me. I read the reviews and followed their advice, but the cookie came out extremely crumbly and would not hold together. Part of the problem was the force needed to cut the caramel, even with a heated knife, crushed the delicate shortbread. I only managed 3 cuts per heating before the knife destroyed the cookie with the force needed, and even the ones that cut would fall apart half the time when I picked them up to transfer to the tray. I might try this again with a different cookie recipe, one that is a little less delicate, because the caramel came out very good, and I bet it would have worked out well if the base had held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
These are soo good. I made these just as and came out perfectly. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made exactly as written came out better than a twix, YUM! Mom won't let me make them but talks about them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni James
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Crumbled and the layers fell apart. With how time consuming it was to make, expected a better cookie. Save yourself the time and buy a twix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My co-workers made these disappear in ten minutes flat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyamazing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I was disappointed. Caramel becomes grainy withing a day or so - I wished the caramel were 'milkier' tasting, too, and not so sweet. The overall taste was kind of 'cheap' even though I used 8 oz of Callebault semi sweet Belgian chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Oh so good. I followed the recipe - but had a hard time with the caramel. I used a double boiler and it never seemed to get hot enough. Next time might just use one pot. Also should have made it a day ahead as the caramel was still a bit soft when I cut them. But regardless I won second prize at my yearly Christmas cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
These taste just like Twix chocolate bars. Yum. I followed others' suggestions of doubling ingredients (except the chocolate chips on top - it doesnt need it) and the freezing, chilling etc. They turned out perfect. I couldnt just stop eating them. Probably one of the best squares I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I have made these several times and always get rave reviews. Just make sure to keep stirring your caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing, and soooooo easy to make. I had EVERYONE going crazy over them and asking for the recipe. I recommend using good quality chocolate on the top (I used Belgian) it really does make all the difference. It is such an amazing treat its a shame to have cheap quality chocolate spoil it. Seriously make this, you wont regret it. I cant emphasise enough how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States